K-Boppin': Current Tunes

in #kpop7 years ago (edited)

Saying I love K-Pop is a complete understatement, where as, saying I am addicted to K-Pop might be the more accurate statement.  I've always wanted to blog consistently on K-Pop, being as my addiction started in 2003-2004 and I have seen the evolution of K-Pop from the trends, drama and seen how the older idols paved the way for today's generation.

As a fan I think I've always viewed K-Pop with a critical eye, the bops and dance moves makes me dance down the streets like a lunatic everyday but also realize how manufactured the groups are and pumped out of entertainment companies like factories. Part of the evolution though is getting to see this industry grow artistically and out of the bounds of standardization. 

In general I am addicted to music. My ears are glued to my ear buds and my feet recognizes beats. I by all means am no expert as I have never learned to play an instrument or feel as if I have the right to say my opinions are professional. My thoughts are just ones of an observer, a lover of one of the world's universal languages. Let's begin!


K-Boppin': Current Tunes

The good thing about the K-Pop industry: Music is being pumped out so fast there's no shortage of bops for the ears. The bad thing: Sometimes the true bops I feel that should get more attention often get over shadowed by the manufactured material. I will cover some, not all, and maybe I'll cover some really old songs too. Who knows!

Here are my 5 tunes that are currently on my repeat list:

(1) Cross County - Ha:tfelt, Suran, Bohyung & Han Na

Cross Country is a collaboration single between Ha:tfelt (Park Ye-eun, formally from the Wonder Girls), Suran (Indie soloist), Bohyung (Formally from the girl group Spica) and Han Na (Actress). I personally don't feel like girls are appreciated as much artistically in the K-Pop industry as their male counterparts, as to why I will get detailed into another time, but mainly because they don't fit the 'ideal' girl image that will sell to such a visual industry.

Cross Country is a combination of some really strong female vocalist getting to do their thang' and I love it. The song also breaks away from the two common female song topics "I like a boy, oh no, what do I do?" or "He cheated on me/hurt me, I must scorn!". This song is about continuing on your path even when it seems difficult or when you can't see what's ahead of you. Don't be afraid, don't stop. It's beautiful and sung very beautifully as well. 

"We’re not afraid
Even if I get lost, I wanna go toward the light
Must ride again
It’s not over till we find the answer
Don’t stop cuz hope never dies."

(English translated lyrics from Popgasa.com)


(2) Thru The Sky - Ha:tfelt 

This is a song off of the Cross Country series, with Ha:tfelt. It's a song that follows the familiarity of EDM beats with Ha:tfelt's beautiful voice. Ha:tfelt is an example of the evolution of K-Pop as she got her start with one of the most iconic girl groups of all time, Wonder Girls. 

This is another song that hits me lyrically as well, as its about the feeling of flying, the feeling of freedom. She's now free to express her wings as a solo artist and I am full of anticipation to see more of her material to be released. 


(3) Right Here, Right Now - DPR Live ft. Loco & Jay Park

Eh yeh yeh! I love the K-Hip Hop world and this song just makes me want to bop my arms around when walking down the street. I may look crazy but feel like a bawse! ...That's all I have, just listen and watch. It's a very visually interesting video too.


(4) Solo - Yezi ft. Loco & Jay Park

Man, I love anything that starts with "I need a Cha Cha beat boy". I swear producer Cha Cha Malone has the musical fingers of the Gods, every thing he touches is a bop and when you hear "I need a Cha Cha beat boy" you know it's going to be one hell of a good song.

I don't know much about Yezi, other than she was on the show Unpretty Rapstar and judging from the video image, this song comes from it. This is just a feel good beat that I hope gets your head boppin' too.


(5) That Girl - Peniel (from BTOB)

Tropical House beats are so in right now, and I'm just loving it! To be honest, I don't think the lyrics of this song makes any sense, in the chorus he's talking about having good summer vibes then when it gets to the chorus he's like "Oo that girl!" but the beat and dance moves are too addicting to care. There's something very entertaining about this choreography to me too, probably because it looks like something I can do while I walk down the street and it also helps this song is in English so it's been easy to sing along with. =D 

There you have it! My current favorites! Stay tuned for other topics and just some more K-Pop deliciousness!

(By the way, I stole this gif idea from my incredibly talented and supportive bestie @vermillionfox. She's been inspiring me to write again with all her posts. Love youu!)

Sort:  

You did a fantastic job!! Lovely post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49