Reflection of My Childhood 2: Eating Better at the New Orphanage starting age 7 in Seoul, Korea.

in #korean8 years ago (edited)

I remember still how excited I was the night before we, the orphans about 30 of us in my age group, were moving to a newly- built orphanage in a better neighborhood in Seoul, Korea.

I could not sleep that night anticipating to see the new orphanage they have built for us. The orphanage mom, the same mom who had raised us and me for 7 years, told us that we will be sitting on a brand new floor and eating on a brand new dinning  table.

There actually will be a new modern kitchen where she can cook for us easily compared to the dumpy old kitchen facility we had in the 3o year old  building where I suffered many sickly days especially in the winters during my first 7 years of my life.

 (See below:  It is me with the red arrow pointed on enjoying the first meal.  I look so happy, yea? Notice the little girl on the right side of me...She was adopted into our family 4 years later by the same parents adopted me.) 

The next day we had our first lunch meal with brand new dinning room, new plates and bowls,new chopsticks and spoon.  The meal was extra special with more side dishes and delicious Korean soup called Doenjang jiigae with tofu. Of course, plenty rice on that day.  In the old orphanage we were rationed 1 bowl of white rice and one bowl of soup with few side dishes of vegetables.


I can still taste the delicious food I ate on that first day at the new orphanage. Of course, I had many more meals for next 4 years before I got adopted and came to the Funny Farm in Missouri, USA. I still love eating this traditional Korean soup.

This photo of the soup makes me hungry!



Sort:  

Interesting To See
And Read
South Korean Food Looks Yum!

Thanks for reading about my life and finding it interesting. The Korean food is really appreciated by many people now. You can find Korean restaurant all states in U.S. The best way is of course learn to cook on your own. The best place to eat Korean food is, of course, in South Korea. Yum...I am getting hungry.

I See
:))

Hi @hanamana, I'm now curious about The Funny Farm- but I've tracked down your post from 2 days ago to tell me a bit more :D

Upvoted and followed - looking forward to reading more <3

Let's do a digital korean cook-off!

What is a digital cook-off?

The food looks good, @hanamana. After some years I lived in Baltimore, Maryland, and for some reason all my friends were from Soul, Korea back then. :) Glad you made it to the USA and thank you for sharing your story.

Your are welcome. Much success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78