You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moving to Korea from Canada

in #korea5 years ago

Very interesting to read, i learned a bit about korea the last days, so im kind of specific interested in this topic.

Im from germany and in europe (i think in america too) we generally have no idea about the asian culture and the "asian lifestyle".

For example a friend of me told me, that in korea its kind of normal for guys to use make up.

Im really interested in other cultures and lifestyles these days.

so i would look forward to your article about why you decided to stay there.

it definitely sounds like a geat experience and knowing the cultures of two very different countries (i think canada and korea are very differently) is definitly an big enrichment.

Sort:  

Actually, I knew a fair bit about Asia before moving here. Not only were geography and culture favorite subjects of mine, but also Northern Toronto is like 70% Asian. There are huge neighborhoods and shopping malls that are more Asian than the ones in Asian (this is coming from someone who has lived in Asia for over 13 years).

In any case, you are right, some Korean dudes do wear make-up. My Korean friends don't either do I - I'm a natural beauty ;), but the guys into K-pop culture especially some of those millennials and younger do and it's definitely not as metrosexual as in the West. Plastic surgery is very accepted and normal here. Personally, I think it's great.

Why I decided to stay here is a little bit more complicated, but I do look forward to telling it in pieces all in good time.

Canada and Korea are indeed very different. I speak somewhat limited Korean and I could have probably learned Perfect German twice over with the time and effort I've invested. Other than our shared humanity, there is nothing culturally similar since prehistoric times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88