You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moving to Korea from Canada

in #korea5 years ago

Farley Mowat was quite the colourful local character. When I commuted to TO on the VIA I would often see him on the platform picking up weekend guests on a Friday evening. Rather I heard him. He was the short fellow with the big booming voice. That would have been 30 some odd years ago. He lived his last years in Port Hope.

Sort:  

That's an interesting story. Authors and creative types definitely keep interesting company. I knew he lived in Port Hope, but unfortunately, I didn't cross the stream to read into the details or ask my relative about it who probably knows a lot more about the details than I do.

It's a very accessible town well located. I was most interested to hear about the coal and steel barons from the US having summer cottages in that town, or the old lodges and social clubs.

If you've read his books you'll know he wrote stories set in the far north a lot. That was the significance of the installation. I read Lost in the Barrens as a teenager.

At one time there was a ferry that ran from the US to Cobourg. That is what brought the rich from the south to summer in Cobourg and Port Hope.

I think I read one of his books while in school.
I had no idea about the ferry, I assumed it was a train. But that makes sense if it's coming from Rochester. I know they wanted to build a ferry from there to Toronto, but Toronto didn't really think it would be a good idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86