South Korean TV Shows you should check out (even if you don’t like kpop)

in #korea7 years ago (edited)

Want it or not the Hallyu wave is upon us!

Even if boybands with lots of members, talent, awesome choreographies and incredible aesthetics are not your thing (shame), you might be interested in learning about korean culture and language, and since not everyone has the money -or time- to travel to South Korea, what better way to explore this amazing culture than through entertainment? So I’ve decided to put my years of fangirling to good use and recommend you guys a few shows that might just become your new guilty pleasure! I promise, this shows have nothing to do with Kpop (but you might see a few famous faces here and there if that’s what you’re looking for)

Abnormal Summit

비정상회담

source

I don’t know how this show hasn’t happen before…It’s SO GOOD! You know how we live in this over sensitive world, where everything can insult people yet no one takes the time to actually TALK ABOUT IT, educate and debate whether this or that should happen? Well, guys from all over the world act as representatives from their country just to answer this questions. Although originally is supposed to just focus on the "Korean culture, through the eyes of a foreigner" It achieves so much more than that in an interesting, fun and lighthearted manner. They debate all kinds of subjects, from dating, premarital cohabitation and how it’s perceived in different cultures to current political scandals.

And for all of you hangul learners, this show is full of lessons! Since the members are all foreigners and -at different levels of hangul proficiency- you might just learn a lot of new words just by watching their mistakes.

Among my favorite debates are:  

-Episode 69: "The History And Usage Of World Languages And Alphabets" 

-Episode 2: "Living Together Before Marriage" 

-Episode 7: "I Feel Like Getting Married Is Homework I Need To Do" 

-Episode 9: "I've Achieved My Goal, But I Am Not Happy" 

Also, on episode 155 the special guest is actor Steven Yeun from the Walking Dead, and on 164 director Luc Besson

Where do I watch it: Netflix, ikshow, kshownow.


Law of the Jungle 

정글의 법칙

source

Imagine if Bear Grylls suddenly decided to take a bunch of famous people to the most breathtaking jungles of the world from Nicaragua to Mongolia, just to see if they can survive a few nights with nothing but their clothes and a few tools. Building their own shelter (one time a two storey wood hut), hunting their own food and facing some wild animals. Well, you can forget about that Bear guy, Kim Byung Man is so much cooler! He can make the most glamourous star become a powerful hunting warrior by sharing some skills! The thing I like about this show is that you can learn some fascinating facts about the places they go, all while vicariously enjoying the stunning natural scenery.

Episodes are separated by the places visited, some travels you should watch are: Panamá, Nicaragua, New Caledonia, Tonga, Kota Manado (BTS alert) and Komodo. 

Where do I watch it: ikshow, kshownow  


Please Take Care of My Refrigerator 

냉장고를 부탁해

source

So the premise here is that this world renowned chefs will make a delicious plate with just what the guest has on their fridge, just what they have on their fridge…and no this is not one of those shows where the guest is going to have a perfect all packed fridge. They make it with LEFTOVERS, one time a guy just had some old fried chicken and they managed to make the plate look delicious. If you like to cook, this is some serious low-cost inspiration material.

Honestly I don’t even know what episode to recommend, they’re all full of yummy food, beautifully plated by the funniest chefs ever, plus those glamourous “cooking poses” (yeah, poses, you’ll see) surely will bring a laugh out of you! And IT IS ON NETFLIX! (as Chef and My fridge)

So as always, I hope you guys like my picks and please feel free to recommend me some shows I’m always looking for something to binge on! 

Also, don’t forget you’re welcome to tell me about your posts if you think I’ll like them, I’m always interested in new content! 

 You can see my last post here:  Style over substance? Who cares…Let’s do makeup! [The Love Witch]

Read ya later. 

-Bárbara     

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57868.91
ETH 2362.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36