Learning Korean — defying myths.

in #korea7 years ago

I have never been good with languages. I sucked at English and even more in Dzongkha. During my early school days, both of these subjects would be the lowest score in the examination. I still remember how lucky I was to qualify for the scholarship by just 3 points in English. English was never my cup of tea nor had I shown any interest towards learning it. To this day my friends complain to me for my weird pronunciation. But, somehow I managed to learn Hangul (Korean language) and got a good grade on the Korean proficiency test that year. Don’t worry, this isn’t a motivational or inspirational speech or even a magic to learn Korean. Just my thoughts and experience that can be is worth sharing to someone.

It all started when I knew that to get my bachelor’s degree requires a minimum of TOPIK level 3. TOPIK is a proficiency test which checks writing, listening and reading abilities in Korean. Some say even Koreans get a low grade (it’s just a bad joke, don’t mind them). TOPIK 3 needs a person to be good at writing essays and listening tests. It felt like climbing a mountain within a time limit. But, it actually turned out to be the best time of my life.

I began from scratch in language institute which surprisingly consisted of only foreigners in Korea (no Koreans in campus) and in the name of language institute it consisted of only two buildings on a mountain like a Tibetan monastery. The first lessons were never easy and the worst part was I didn’t know why am I even studying this for. Things got so overwhelming that I asked for help from Korean students in different programs but, I couldn’t get through the interview.

Anyways, since I advanced to level 5 in a year, it still feels like some sort of achievement and feels so good to brag about. Fact that I still hate k-pop and my Korean level has not improved. Learning Korean taught me a great lesson about friendship, values, and teachers and student bonding. It was the first time, I saw no favoritism in class. For the first time, the results were not openly disclosed. For the first time, it felt good to go and attend class on time. I must say, Korean does this well. Encouraging one to be seen as lion though one may just be a troll.

The most important thing was I got rid of certain myths that defined my life till now. Throughout my life, I have considered getting good grades determines your value. And, the Korean language proves, grade means one is good at solving questions you always know the answer to— that is it. I still remember there were people speaking fluent Korean and yet not able to pass TOPIK 3/4. It reminded me of my school days where I would talk about chemistry with myself yet perform poorly on the exam.

Not to say, all high scorers are bad at understanding concepts.I became so good at solving Korean grammatical question that on my last school exam (advanced level) I easily managed to get through without even studying. I was feeling the grammars and vocabulary on my nerves. On contrary, I wasn’t even good at starting or speaking simple conversations like ordering a pizza or asking for a haircut. It did make me realize how grades can be exaggerated.

Today, it’s been almost one and half years that I started Korean and I feel my abilities have remained stagnant. But, still, If I could give some advice to Korean learners

If you are learning Korean just for the sake of getting into university then forget about using a Korean language partner or a magical website. You would be just wasting your time. I recommend you to learn basic concepts well, and move to problem solving. I have somehow realized after coming to Korea that, solving question is more important than understanding concepts to aced an exam. I highly recommend to start solving questions related to TOPIK.

But, if you’re genuinely trying to learn Korean. Please, please, please start slowly! And precisely. Don’t move forward until your pronunciation for consonants is perfect. Learning language surely is not a competition. I would really emphasize you to learn slowly and precisely. Because the slower you move deeper you feel, and faster you may lead latter and vice versa.

Finally, I haven’t regret learning Korean for a moment now. Korea is a great country and Koreans are best to be surrounded with.
Best of luck whilst learning Korean. Fight on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50