You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Story of Hendrik Hamel: The First Westerner to Write of His Journey to Korea

in #korea6 years ago

I like this story. Reading his journal is really dramatic. It is one of the forst detailed descriptions of Korea by a westerner.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I'm really interested in early Korea as seen through the eyes of someone from a foreign culture. Hamel had an epic adventure in Korea.

There are a lot of stories from around 1880s to 1910 written by christian missionaries. Hamel is unique because his story is much older and he was a well travelled merchant.

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't read any books by missionaries. If you know of any good ones, please recommend them to me. Here's one you might like: Inside the Hermit Kingdom: The 1884 Korea Travel Journal of George Clayton Foulk.

You should find a list here: http://www.raskb.com/content/raskb-online-library-0
There are more resources on that page too if you click ebooks library

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the link. I've read some of the books on that list, but it's hard to know which ones are worth reading.

The story I red and enjoyed was about trying to drive a car to the east coast for a vacation around 100 years ago. Country side people weren't familar with cars and memorable events happened. I will try to find the exact one when I have some free time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like a good read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62066.10
ETH 2419.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66