Where to Find Kombucha in Seoul on Foot #1: ITAEWON 이태원

in #kombucha6 years ago

Welcome to a quick post on Itaewon Steemians.

As I have committed myself to live in Seoul, I'm taking the opportunity to share what I find out with the Steem community and be your quick helping hand if you ever find yourself touring this unique country.

To introduce this lively neighborhood, it is basically a Western Town of Asia. Think of it as a reverse of China Towns or Korean Towns that pop up in the cities of North America. You will find an international array of food types that attract many non-Koreans who miss their comfort foods from back home. Koreans who are keen on experiencing the fun vibes of the neighborhood also visit the area.

23.jpg

Captain Kombucha Bottles @ Olive Young right near the station
캡틴 콤부차 @ 이태원 역 근처 올리브 영
IMG_20171222_144539.jpg

You'll be able to find one of these guys (flavors also available in raspberry and cayenne pepper) in the store at the drinks section.
captain kombucha from itaewon.jpg

Glass of Kombucha ICED @ Fat Cat Brunch Restaurant
아이스 콤부차를 즐길 수 있는 팻캣 브런치 집

kombucha at fat cat2.jpg
kombucha at fat cat4.jpg

Their Kombucha is made by a company named Lumi. I haven't seen their products anywhere else so I am assuming they only provide Kombucha for restaurants who want to serve it in a glass.

As for the taste? Just your regular classic Kombucha flavor. I really hope they experiment with the flavors a little more in the future to allow their customers to experience how diverse and yummy Kombucha can really be!

Glass of Kombucha ICED @ Plant Vegan Restaurant
아이스 콤부차를 즐길 수 있는 플랜트 비건 집

plant 2.jpg

Now I haven't been to this place yet, but what I hear is that they have Kombucha on the menu as well. It has been a few months since I've been to Itaewon (mainly due to the cold weather) so I am planning on doing a revisit to see if Kombucha drinking culture has spread among the Itaewon community. I'll be sure to include Plant in it.

If anyone gets there before I do, add a comment below and let me know!

I'm looking for places with unique flavors of Kombucha, and so far, my favorite is Captain Kombucha's Raspberry flavor. I'll keep the Steemit community updated on what brand or restaurant boasts the best Kombucha in Korea.

I am in the middle of planning a business trip to California in January 2018 where the Kombucha game is really strong. I'm doubly excited about tasting the different Kombuchas there and writing about them.

So as always, stay in the loop for more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94