You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kombucha Chronicles, Part 10: Unschooling Myself and Learning to Brew

in #kombucha7 years ago

I've personally seen pictures of massive scobies from people brewing it commercially. I know people dry them to make a leather, those would be great for giant pieces instead of the small pieces people have to stitch together.

Sort:  

^ that is exactly what I am talking about. I am interested in engineering the yeasts and bacteria to make leather like material with different properties.
I have seen some BIG scobies.

Indeed. Sounds like you need to get in contact with a commercial manufacturer like GT

I need to do the engineering on a small scale first. GT might be a cool contact if my experiments are successful. Microbio takes a while at this point in the industry. Moving very quickly though.

Indeed, let me know if/when you make progress with this!

Tip: it's all about the shape of your brewing vessel in relation to the leather sheet that you want to harvest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50