You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kombucha Chronicles, Part 10: Unschooling Myself and Learning to Brew

in #kombucha7 years ago

It's kombucha so if it's in the fridge, it'll keep awhile. I've been drinking bottles almost a month old with no issues.

Sort:  

Any difference with the fruit?

I prefer using fruit as opposed to juices, syrups or purees like many others. It's a flavor difference for me.

Looks good - one of my projects for this summer. Will certainly reach out if I have any questions!f

Please do! It's a really rewarding thing to do, it's part of what keeps me doing it!

I am a Synthetic Biologist and I am really interested in the scoby and what uses it could have on an industrial scale. Love it!!!

I've personally seen pictures of massive scobies from people brewing it commercially. I know people dry them to make a leather, those would be great for giant pieces instead of the small pieces people have to stitch together.

^ that is exactly what I am talking about. I am interested in engineering the yeasts and bacteria to make leather like material with different properties.
I have seen some BIG scobies.

Indeed. Sounds like you need to get in contact with a commercial manufacturer like GT

Fruit is great but you have to keep it refrigerated or else it turns straight into vinegar (literally, fructose to vinegar). Even in the fridge after a couple of days you get a slight vinny flavor. I prefer using freeze dried fruits for this reason, which helps a lot. Also, flavoring extracts work well (terps!! mmm).

They do get fizzier over time, even in the fridge I've found

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52