Kombucha Chronicles Part 11: Weed Berry Booch and Other Tasty Flavors and Tidbits

in #kombucha7 years ago

As a Cannabis lover, my first question when trying new things is almost always something along the lines of “Can I put weed in it?”  I kid you not, as stereotypical as it is that’s where my mind goes. It’s been revolutionary for me as far as health is concerned, so it’s only natural that I want to find ways to incorporate it into all parts of my life.  Finally today, I was able to try putting weed in my kombucha, in the form of leaves locally sourced from an anarchist friendly farmer.   

It started with a few leaves. 

  Some clean pressure rated bottles, meaning that they have that little red seal telling you they can handle the pressure from the fizzyness. I purchase bottles of sparking orangeade and encourage my English friend to spend too much money on fancy unpasteurized beer in flip top bottles to satisfy my need for them. 

 And some kombucha ready to bottle, these five quart jars are on day 5, ready to go. How long your brew takes is dependant on so many factors including size of vessel and climate.   

 I’m not sure how easy it’ll be to get out but I just dropped the leaves in whole.  I thought chopping it might lead to a strong taste that only my Cannabis muchnin’ friend @erikaharris would enjoy. So I decided to keep it mild and add some berries. 

I call it Weed Berry Booch and I think it’ll be awesome.  Now I’ve got to wait up until three days from now to try it depending on how strong I want my flavors and how fizzy I want my brew.  

 I use a plastic funnel to fill my bottles, washed just before use to make sure there’s no dust. Mexico is a dusty place and it really doesn’t take long for it to settle on everything, including clean dishes.   

I personally strain my brew as I fill it to remove extra yeast strands.  This leads to a lighter brew, which I prefer.  Some leave the yeast but I think it leads to a more beery brew which isn’t what I personally like.  It’s important to note that much of the fine tuning of kombucha is down to preferance.  I don’t consider the people who leave the yeast in to do things wrong, they just like that flavor profile! 

 By the end of it, Weed Berry Booch should be a pretty purple color and hopefully it will have harnessed some of the medicinal effects from the cannabis.  We’ve talked about getting more leaves to make a booch vinegar infusion, something to be used as a skin toner. It’s clear these two should be together, there just isn’t much out there on it right now! 

It’s actually a pretty controversial topic as far as the internet communities are concerned.  More often than not posts talking about cannabis infused booch get deleted sadly, probably in fear of government realistically speaking. It’s sad that a whole section of this kombucha world is getting ignored, even though it certainly exists.   

For me, as far as flavoring is concerned I prefer using whole fruit, fresh or frozen.  I’ve tried juices and purees and I just find I don’t like the end taste as much.  I cut them small enough so they easy go in the bottle and despite what many think, my fruit doesn’t get stuck in the bottle. My bottles are remarkably easy to clean.    

Some of the new flavors I’m trying this time are:

Strawberry Ginger

Weed Berry Booch (strawberry, blueberry and weed) 

Strawberry and Blueberry Strawberry and Cacao nibs 


 Stay tuned for the flavor and fizz results of the Weed Berry Booch and other new flavors.  Next time I reveal my favorite and least favorite flavor combinations to date!   


 Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time! 

Sort:  

Do the Cannabis leaves provide any measurable benefit to the drink? Wouldn't it simply add a chlorophyll taste? If the leaves were dried perhaps there would be some terpenes? I would like to try this recipe with decarboxilation treatment on some trim/sugarleaf. Have you experimented any further with this? Im a very experienced "cook" - but I have never seen anyone make a kombucha or tried - Excellent post! I may have a new project...

Kombucha is a fun project, especially for a chef so look into it! kombuchachronicles.com is the direct link to my series on it, featuring a video full of shots of my kombucha taken by me.
As far as the cannabis is concerned, the bacteria will eat the leaf and make some of the nutrient more available. So the fact that the leaves are considered a superfood make it a good candidate for adding to kombucha. I'm interested to see what flavor profile it adds. Trying it the decarboxyilated way sounds interesting too, I just havent gotten that far :)

Delicious! You should check out my page! I post pictures and updates from the cultivation facility I work at!

Where is the cultivation facility?

True Harvest out of Phoenix AZ

It's pretty stuff, it is it is. I'm excited for it all!

I bet you could sell weed kombucha for $10 a bottle... I already pay $4 for a 16oz of GT's!

This looks like a blast. If I ever get my own kombucha brew started, I'll have to try your methods :-)

Get yourself a bottle of GT original raw and get started making a starter! Seriously, just grow your own now and cut those costs! Here in Mexico, it'll be awhile before I get that, but I will start selling mine here very soon!

hmmmm... is it really that easy? I'll only be living in my current area for another 4 months, is that enough time?

Yes! From my understanding if you make a bit of sweet tea, add that to the kombucha original flavor, within a week you'll have a scoby starting to form, it starts as a weird looking film. Once you've got a nice white visible scoby, you make a bigger brew with it and bam! Kombucha! Many people move with their scobies in what is called a hotel, this is something I'll have to do eventually myself. But just seal it in a jar for the duration of the move and you can take it with you! The person who gave mine to me brought it in a backpack from oregon! It's a very versatile thing to do!

Cool. Thanks for the advice!

Yeah, give it a try and let me know how it turns out!

You know you had me at "weed," @lily-da-vine! (muncha-muncha). Yes, love me some leaves! These shots look awesome, and I love your experimentation! Your booch line is gonna be a big hit. Congrats!

Thanks for the love, chica. I figured you'd be all over this one, I'll do what I can to save some for you to try :D

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.62 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Woa! My two favorite things! I can't wait to see this in stores. Right next to GT Daves, Weed Berry Booch by lily davine.

That would be an interesting site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68