Sort:  

Please do! It's a really rewarding thing to do, it's part of what keeps me doing it!

I am a Synthetic Biologist and I am really interested in the scoby and what uses it could have on an industrial scale. Love it!!!

I've personally seen pictures of massive scobies from people brewing it commercially. I know people dry them to make a leather, those would be great for giant pieces instead of the small pieces people have to stitch together.

^ that is exactly what I am talking about. I am interested in engineering the yeasts and bacteria to make leather like material with different properties.
I have seen some BIG scobies.

Indeed. Sounds like you need to get in contact with a commercial manufacturer like GT

I need to do the engineering on a small scale first. GT might be a cool contact if my experiments are successful. Microbio takes a while at this point in the industry. Moving very quickly though.

Indeed, let me know if/when you make progress with this!

Tip: it's all about the shape of your brewing vessel in relation to the leather sheet that you want to harvest.