Getting A Library Card Without Government ID

in #knownassam6 years ago

We love our local library.

I used to go to it for a while when I discovered all it's gloriousness but then after moving from the city to the rural area, I stopped going for a multitude of reasons.

Saskatchewan library is absolutely incredible. It's efficient, it's collaborative. It is the model system and best in Canada - the envy of the rest.
The centres have incredible programs, the materials are extensive and very broad in subject matter, the people are great.
I've had no bad experiences with a librarian yet. They're extremely friendly and passionate about their jobs.

One of our local libraries regularly hosts movies for kids, publicly reading books and much more. Last time I was in there, they had a fella from what looked like environmental services teaching a bunch of kids about insects. I eavesdropped a bit; it was a very fun and informational class. The kids absolutely loved it.

I fully intend on using library materials to home school my kids come time for them to start working more on academics and access programs like these going on whenever finances allow.

Speaking of finances... So far I've saved over a thousand dollars by using library materials instead of purchasing them. And this is in 2 months.

Yes, if you're reading you've assumed correctly. We have a library card. And I got one without government issues ID.


image source

We started going to the library a couple months ago, as i had to stop in town to pick up some grow light for veggies. I went into the library and started looking around as it had been a few years and I was curious about what they had.
I had found a few books that I liked and asked what the process was for getting a library card without government issued ID, as I no longer wish to use any form of identification issued to myself from the current government.

The librarian said it should be fine, gave me a post card for confirmation of address that I had to mail to myself, bring back and confirm I actually live somewhere.
So that's what we did. I took out a couple books to start reading and went through with the post card bringing it back to confirm address. Time went by and nothing was amiss.

Then the next time I went in, I found out my account got flagged and blocked from head office as it had been over a month and I hadn't produced ID. My account was placed on a temporary one of only 4 items until I could call in figure it out. I got the number for head office and gave a ring, leaving a voice mail as the person who was in charge of the whole operation wasn't available.

The same day the assistant called me citing that they had moved the account to community member status which allowed me to take out 4 items at a time plus access to all online materials as it was an option for those with no government ID - they get a community member such as clergy or a social worker to vouch for them.

I explained to her that this is a lifestyle choice, not a temporary thing and that I feel discriminated against to not be able to have access like everyone else simply because of how I operate day to day.
I offered to have multiple community witnesses or a notorized document made and produced for verification of identification. As she was only the assistant, she passed the request to the director to get in touch with me.

I called the director again the next day - luck was on my side as she's been very busy with meetings and things as of late so she's been out of the office frequently.
Again I explained to her who I was, what my intent was and possible options I could utilize as proof of the fact that I am who I am and had no ill intent using library items.
She had explained that the reason why they require ID is because they don't want someone to just show up, take out a whole bunch of DVD's and not return them.
Which is reasonable as DVD's are expensive - they often have the newer movies so if you take out 20 dvds all at 20 dollars... suddenly you're out 400 dollars worth of items simply cause someone was an asshole.

We settled on producing a notorized document for the next time I visit the library.

The next day I went to a notary public with an ID. I had been meaning to do this for a long time but simply hadn't had the money to produce to pay for the notary's service. I found an old ID, as notaries require community member vouching or an existing ID to notorize a document. This would be the last time I would ever use a government issued ID for identification. We notorized my new ID - I gave the old one back to be discarded. I won't bother going into too many details of then encounter on this post but it was short and sweet.


I then went to the library the next week to have it laminated, photocopied and sent off. All restrictions have been lifted on my current account. So far I'm waiting on some dvds on law and indigenous natural law to come in to give a watch. :)


Sort:  

I like what you stand for and I wish I could do the same but I am still having a hard time wrapping my head around it, how to function without government issued ID when 99% of the world isn't set up to handle something so different. Do you find using this notarized ID to be a hassle in any other aspects of your life? How much freer do you feel? I think tossing a government issued ID would feel pretty freeing. -Aimee

In canada, they must accommodate religious freedom.
If you know your religion and can cite proof of exemption, as well as know that those helping you have a duty to accommodate, it can be an interesting experience.
So far I haven't had any problems.
But it's only been a year.
I feel better. But sometimes more in a cage because it's now not just the government I have to watch for, it's people who like to ruin your life cause they feel they're doing the right thing by calling the "authorities" on you.

People scare me more than the government.
It's like the matrix - if they aren't unplugged they're still one of them.
Makes sense?

It's one of the scariest best things ive ever done.

The Matrix, that totally makes sense. I feel like the government has a sneaky way of getting the people to do their dirty work for them. They plant ideas that grow like weeds so that the masses keep the few who are unplugged surpressed. Thanks for the information. I am glad to see you blogging again and look forward to your articles. -Aimee

Contracts, mind manipulation and control through fear.
It's all a giant racketeering scheme.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85