Did You Know? Benefits of mushrooms

in #knowledge6 years ago

pexels-photo-793267.jpeg

Not many are into the taste of mushrooms. I am hit and miss
with eating them. But that may change now that I know they
are super healthy for you. I never knew that mushrooms are
full of vitamin D, along with many many other nutrients.
They are full of antioxidants too, which our bodies need. And
they are good for your bladder.

I used to eat them either cooked (fried) or with a bit of peanut
butter or cream cheese. Just the thought is making my mouth
water.

The healthiest ones are the white mushrooms (shiitake) and
you will benefit more from them by cooking them. The heat
during cooking helps bring the nutrients out.

Mushrooms grow in the ground and above, something I also
did not know. We have a mushroom farm out here and boy
does it stink. I think that is what drives people away from
eating them.

So, if you live in a place not known for sunshine, like here in
Washington State, eat up on the mushrooms. They are great
in omelets too.

Do you like mushrooms? How do you eat/cook them?

...
Mushroom photo compliments of pexel.
anigif banner.gif

Sort:  

I was just looking at mushrooms in the supermarket today, thinking I should get some because they are healthy, but I didn't know what kind to get or how to cook them. So now I know to get shiitake, but I still don't know how I will cook them because I only use a microwave to cook. :)

Lol, you can eat them raw or fry them in butter or oil. Or you could chop them and add to whatever you cook in the microwave.

We love mushrooms, my favorite ones are Portobello mushrooms. Sliced thinly and cooked like a burger patty with all the fixings makes a great tasty meatless sandwich and can even be cooked on a bbq grill. We also like the others too and use them often sometimes raw and sometimes cooked.

Yummmm now I really wish I had some. Guess it is on my shopping list for this weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99