I.T. Spices The LINUX Way

LINUX Desktop For Beauty And Productivity - Post #10

It is getting wet in our part of the Earth, this is evident in the wet green leaves as contrasted by the sunshine……...

WHAT STARTED ME ON LINUX

Back in 1999 when I was still working as an NOC (Network Operations Center) Engineer manning the nationwide fiber optic backbone facility that spans the whole Philippine archipelago, life at times become so boring. What with a full running multi-million dollar equipment designed to run almost forever, the people standing by (us unfortunately!) literally have nothing else to do.

Little did I know that I was just setup to become one of many LINUX ambassadors in the years to come. See, as the management of that company had observed such boring routines for us Engineers, they tried all sorts of perks to make our works more enjoyable at the NOC. TV sets, longer break times, unsupervised working environment, and last but the best really, tech magazines delivered on a monthly basis for our reading pleasure. I remember bringing my soldering kits to the office to assemble hobby kits as learned from such magazines. And then there was LINUX, featured as a new breakthrough and approach in operating systems security and server robustness. I was so fascinated that I started to install it myself on my laptop (REDHAT 6????). Strange at first but I am determined as I believe the main concepts are sound and worth my time, exactly like my STEEMIT experience as now. I can still clearly remember, at that time where ISP (Internet Service Providers) still offer dial-up services, I designed in advance a dial-up System on linux using ras services on USB. I say advanced design because at the time of my sketches of the approaches, USB ports were still on the magazines and not yet at the stores in my locality. And true enough, when the USB ports arrived on motherboards, as I introduce my ras service approach thru USB ports to colleagues and friends, it gave each one some crazy new experiences.

Since that day, I had hopped from one company to another helping them solve seemingly unsolvable I.T. problems using the LINUX way of things. And I never looked back, I am now on my 18th year as a LINUX ambassador, not once did I fail on my Design and approach the LINUX way!

LET US START YOUR LINUX JOURNEY NOW

I am planning to teach LINUX in a “direct from the expert” way of things here. As what I always say to encourage any new guy on the job that I mentor: “You just focus on the things I teach, I promise to be very concise in mentoring you everything and easily from the very things I learned over the last 18 years”. Sometimes, and this is my experience really, the subordinate can not seem to understand the free-meal approach, but I can understand this as they always are some “slaves” I would say from the OS that is almost always the pre-built one on every laptop that we buy nowadays, I do not have to mention the OS anymore as I know you already get my point. This is FREE, all of it, and I will add this will be FREE from me, and gladly given for all to learn as well. Why not? This is LINUX!!!

LET US DUAL BOOT YOUR WINDOWS WITH LINUX NOW

The way I will do this here is to give a direct to the point hints as my original inputs, and together with this I would give links for you to read to complete the information. In my entries here on I.T. at STEEMIT, I believe my direct to the point ideas are what is important because all things howto on LINUX is already available.

Here it is as per subtitle:

-1. You need to use a LINUX flavor that is well supported by big organizations and are presently being actively developed. I would suggest these flavors for starters as good desktop on LINUX alternative: Fedora, Linux Mint, Ubuntu. As I wanna be direct to the point and not wanting you to be confused on the choices, I would directly suggest Linux MINT as your first LINUX desktop. This is now on version 18.2 and very much stable with lots of good graphics desktop features. Youtube video link below on the specifics.

-2. To make your desktop experience more enjoyable, after installing the basic linux mint desktop on, install the cairo dock. The cairo dock will enable you to have a look and feel like the apple computer, cool isn’t it? Especially if we know that this is all for FREE unlike the apple one.

-3. Now that you have a cairo dock on your linux mint install, make sure to add 3d desktop capabilities by installing compiz. Compiz is the way to go really in desktop on linux, the most that I like is the multiple workspaces (I have 9!!!), I need this feature as I do multi-tasks always. It will also let you have a different wallpaper on each workspace, meaning you can easily identify which is which among your important tasks, really fun and enjoyable with lots of eyecandy. Almost all people that saw my Linux MINT desktop at the office will exclaim “I gotta have that desktop man!!!”. They are users of the other side by the way, you get what I mean I know haha.

Steps #2 and #3 can be understood and properly done as per the URL howto below:

https://www.lifewire.com/setting-up-using-cairo-dock-4054034

SO, first things first actually, that is why I posted this firstly on my “IT Spice” posts to be able for you to have the same platform as mine, and being able to accomplish this you can then follow me steadily on my next IT Spices.

I have only one aim here, and that is for you to become a LINUX expert one day. As I already shared above, I will say this again: “Do not worry, just focus on the things I tell you. Rest assured these are very effective ways that I had learned over the past 18 years. It is yours packed in just a few posts.” . If I may add, BELIEVE ME I HAVE DONE THESE SO MANY TIMES ALREADY.

LINUX and STEEMIT, what a perfect combination!

“The Best Things In Life Are Free; I Am Sure Of This As I Inhale Air Everyday, INVOLUNTARILY……...”

Sort:  

Nearly everything you do is of no importance, but it is important that you do it.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Haha, nice words from a wise man. Thanks really, I am humbled.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66011.09
ETH 3480.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17