Sailing Wednesday!

in #knot6 years ago

sailing sunday.jpg

Time to share some more pics from my weekly adventure on the lake. It seems that autumn had settled in the last few days and what better way to fight off the cool weather than some warm sailing pics? My love for alliterations and initial desire to have my themed posts land on certain days of the week has gone out the window and I will have to make a new theme shot it seems......

IMG_4199.jpg

There is some warmth as it is sitting around 30 degrees Celsius as I make my way from the high lands to the lake.

IMG_4200.jpg

Here is the friendly crew of sea dogs as I arrive. I was wondering why we are putting up the number 3 (smaller jib for heavier winds) and they inform me it is 12 knots gusting 23 out there.......so there is wind and heavy at that for these parts.

IMG_4207.jpg

First things first......this trips is just a reason for beer so lets get guzzling. Andy and I consider our options (both hoppy and bold because I bought them) and he goes for the Hawaiian and I take the Lake of Bays IPA. I will have to do a hops post on this as it is good and has undergone some changes lately worth mentioning.

IMG_4208.jpg

Zeke doesn't generally do selfies but I will happily hang the horns in a shadow cast upon the head sail!

IMG_4221.jpg

Here is an action shot on the last downwind as the crew collectively battles the wind to capture the most air, and navigate the course to get to the finish line fastest.

IMG_4228.jpg

This is what you get when you hand your phone off to someone else on the boat without locking it up. It does take a strange breed to sail season after season and this guy is one of the best.

IMG_4236.jpg

Happy faces all around. Not because we finished a close third on the race, but because we worked as a team to have some fun and leave the land behind midweek for a couple hours.

IMG_4239.jpg

Here is the sunset over Oakville Ontario as we sail back into the harbor for the night. There is something special about not having to put the motor back on, and actually sailing in to the docks. These are the beautiful moments we have to capture and acknowledge to balance us out from the battles we face every day.

IMG_4238.jpg

Thumbs up for good friends, a life of fun, beautiful sunsets, and Steemit Sailing Sundays (on Thursday!)

Knot-01_240.jpg

Sort:  

this trips is just a reason for beer so lets get guzzling :D I just wanted to write that these probably no post of urs without beer :D

Posted using Partiko Android

You may be catching on to a pattern! A friend of mine who was quitting drinking all together noted that everything is just a reason to have alcohol. Sailing DEFINITELY is.

Love the sense of humor, I only been sailing once with a good mate of mine but he got that sailing bug and raves about it.
Btw I learned to guard my phone in college lol...good to see that no matter the age, we all jokers at heart.

Yah he is proof that if you don't grow up by a certain age, you don't have to at all. Makes for fun racing for sure.

30°C in September?! Nice!! 👍

Yah! It was 26 today apparently and will be for the next few days but was in the single digits at night the last few.

Not too many more days like that left this year and only a couple more races.

Love reading posts like this and also looking forward to reading your post on the changes in the hops. Im not a drinker myself but do like to learn about this craft beer sweeping the world atm.

It is kinda interesting when you get into the science behind it and are friends with a few brewery owners.

"Thank you, craft beer, for turning my alcoholism into a popular hobby."

A hint for that beer is it was nothing special before, then I noticed they switched hops to my one of my favorites.

I really can’t wait to experience this sailing ...great pictures, happy faces... you guys rock! Shine on bro....

Many miles between us but a nice quick blockchain is a perfect bridge. Keep fighting the good fight my friend.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80