Yesteryear Regatta

in #knot6 years ago

The Yesteryear Regatta in San Diego is an annual event that brings together all the classic boats in the region. Its organized by the Ancient Mariners Sailing Society which was founded in 1975 to support classic vessels as living museums. This was the 45th annual regatta.

peekaboo.jpg

The day began very foggy and quite cool but warmed up by race time into the 60's even though the marine layer had a hard time breaking up. It wasn't just a solid thick layer. This dynamic made for some excellent light to do what I came to do - take photos!

rendezvous.jpg

When shooting boats, like any sports, you need to have a fast shutter. This is compounded by the need to use as big a telephoto lens as you can. My big gun is an older Canon 400mm f5.6. Shooting it at less than 1/200 nearly guarantees a soft shot. I stick to as close to 1/1000 as I can. That means I have to turn up the ISO. I try to keep under 400. 250 is ideal from a noise standpoint. I focus on the boat as it moves. lock the focus and then move forward and let the boat come into the frame and fire off several to get one good shot. Today I also used a tripod after my last outing, handheld, produced so many fails!

yesteryear1.jpg


©Copyright Chris Tucker All rights Reserved


Visit my Online Gallery


Read my most recent Stock Photography How-To Blog!
Stock Photography | Rules to Follow 2.1

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-13T21:57:21
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 334.58/400.00
Total Photos: 23
Total comments: 43
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.42 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love classic boats

Yes! I would love to have one but only if I could pay someone to take care of it for me! The top one is an IOD and the middle one is a Kettenburg 50 which were built in San Diego in the 1920's and 30's :-)

Good call on the tripod. A lens that big sounds like it would be tough to shoot hand held.

I especially like the first shot with the guy looking through the sail.

Thanks! Yea the up close and personal shots win even in sailboat photography :-) I have used the lens handheld, usually while on a boat and as long as it is super fast shutter it works out. But shooting on land for an extended period of time is really only possible with a tripod or my elbow and shoulder hurt for a week after!!!

Hi @visualcontent, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Paddling Nature Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

I glad you like it that much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78