Antigua Classic Yacht Regatta

in #knot6 years ago

Fujifilm X10 ~ 18mm ~ f/6.4 ~ 1/800 sec ~ ISO 100

Three years ago I had the great fortune to be invited to sail on a friends yacht out of Antigua. From there we island hopped to the BVI's and back, to take in the Classic Yacht Regatta. The spectacle of the vessels that congregate during this week is almost beyond words.
Now this is a photo of a race around the bouys, however it always evokes in me that feeling of looking back at your departure point with fond memories and at the same time the excitement of adventure and freedom that comes with not knowing what lays over the horizon.

I guess that's why we sail.

Sort:  

Stunning vessel! Nothing like when the wind hits the sails, the engine is off and it's just you, the water, and the breeze. Man I'm looking forward to it!

Words cannot explain how much I'm looking forward as well. We keep getting little teases that drift off as fast as they appear. Won't be long now. Thanks for your support Skipper.

You must have enjoyed your sailing trip. Great post though!

One of the best! I've been revisiting it as I wait patiently? for summer or even spring to appear over the horizon. Thanks for you support.

Your welcome :)

I can't imagine what it feels like when the wind fills the sails and the vessel surges forward. I always wanted to learn how to sail.
CARRY ON my friend!

Thanks for your interest. It's been my passion since I was 4 yrs. old.

Great composition! Reminds me an illustration of my favorite novel. Keep it up!
@photofriend - Supporting original photography on Steemit and fight against plagiarism.

Thanks for your support. Really like what you're doing with your blog as well.

Congratulations @loneranger! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Sounds like it was a great time and that photo looks great.

It was one of the best trips ever my friend. Thanks for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66372.71
ETH 3445.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63