received NAVTEX message: SOMEONE IS WATCHING A MOVIE [vid+eng subs]

in #knot6 years ago (edited)

Here is a funny message I received via NAVTEX ...

It seems that someone was sitting on the ptt (push-to-talk) button of his VHF while watching a movie.

Usually they send a DSC message via VHF and tell about that on some other channel, maybe they did but I was too far away. I think the movie-watcher did not stop, so they called the german NAVTEX station in Pinneberg to send 2 Messages.

Since my active NAVTEX antenna sits at the top of my mast, I can receive messages at the daylight from around 600km away and at night around 2000km away. If you are interesed about my self-build NAVTEX, I can post a few videos about that aswell ;) just leave a comment.

And NO - It was not me! Why? I don't have a TV aboard. This is one of the few things, which is definetly a not-must-have ;)

I added a few english subs to the video for better understanding.

enjoy!

PS: If you wonder what NAVTEX is: "NAVigational Warnings by TEleX" - it's kind of an information service for sailors, like the traffic news you get while driving your car via your radio ..

Segler auf Steem? Knot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83