You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: High Polish Blade File Knife Afzelia Burl Hardwood Handle

in #knives7 years ago

I use off the wall exotic woods too when I make guitar slides.......what do you use to glue the scales to the knife? I am looking for a good strong glue to bond the wood to the bone since my slides are half wood half bone.......poly glue works ok but every once in a while one will come apart..... That knife is awesome though

Sort:  

My handles are solid so my blades aren't full tang. So I drill out enough to get the tang about halfway inside the handle. I use regular 10 min 2 part clear epoxy from the autoparts store. And pin the blade thru the handle with steel stock which is also epoxied in. Haven't had one break yet.

Maybe you could pin your slides with brassand use 2 part epoxy? Maybe 1/8th or 1/16th inch round stock. Might add a little heft. And brass adds sustain. Might be purty too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49