CASE XX Limited Edition Stockman Smooth Bright Green Bone

in #knives7 years ago

Case Stockman Closed Case Side 2.jpg

It's time for me to share another one of my recent knife purchases. Up until now I never really was interested in Case knives. I hear there are people that collect them. It seems like their knives are marketed to collectors. They have all the different colors and textures of the same models of knives over and over. You get a knife of a certain color and texture and then you need to get the rest of the knives from that collection (or people like me do anyway).

Case Stockman Closed Other Side.jpg

This is the Case Stockman Smooth Bright Green Bone knife. It has three blades: a drop point, a wharncliffe and a spey blade. There's at least half a dozen different Case knives with this color and texture of handle. I decided to buy this one. The three blade Case knife just stands out as the model I associate with Case the most. I'm not sure why. It's just how it is. Maybe it's because when my grandfather gave me my first pocket knife it was a smaller Case Stockman and I just associate that knife with Case knives.

Case Stockman Open Drop Point.jpg

This side of the drop point blade has the XX Limited Edition marking and states that it is 1 of 3000 knives made but it isn't individually numbered.

Case Stockman Open Drop Point Other Side.jpg

The other side of the drop point blade is blank with a mirror finish. All of the blades have a mirror finish.

Case Stockman Open Spay Blade.jpg

This is the spey-point blade. It has a less pronounced point than the drop point and traditionally was used to castrate animals. That's not something I plan to do and honestly I'm not sure anyone is using their case knives to castrate animals but that's what I hear this style of blade was made for.

Case Stockman Open Wharncliffe 2.jpg

The wharncliffe blade has no point to speak of. Wharncliffe blades are one of the only style of knives I am allowed to use at work with my company. It was due to the number of cuts attributed to the use of knives They have us wear cut resistant gloves. One weakness of cut resistant gloves is if something sharp, like a pointy knife, penetrates between the individual Kevlar threads it could still result in a minor puncture wound or cut. Our company and many others in the industry have decided to only allow specific knives to be used. The most common one that we use is a wharncliffe blade and as far as I know the others are all either a wharncliffe or some kind of a modified wharncliffe.

Case Stockman Open Wharncliffe.jpg

The common theme is no pointy tips. This knife is for home but the idea is the same. I use a wharncliffe blade if I don't want a sharp point cutting something I don't want cut, If you have something flat on a cutting board and you want to slice it the wharncliffe has the perfect blade shape. One thing I learned by being forced to use the wharncliffe blade at work is that it actually is good for most cutting tasks. I don't recall a time where that blade shape didn't work for me.

Case Stockman Open Drop Point 2.jpg

The only reason I tend to go to the drop point first is out of familiarity. It's what I've always used (aside from work).

I mentioned people collect these knives. I don't think I'm going to be one of them but I'll almost certainly end up owning a few. I'm more likely to pick one or two more unusual Case knives than to start collecting as many of them as I can. I carry this knife in my jacket breast pocket. It's relatively light and small. If I forget to carry one of my regular knives I have this one in my pocket for small cutting tasks. It wasn't an expensive knife. This was another www.warriorsandwonders.com purchase. The grand total (shipping not included) came to $88.99. I believe the same stockman knife that isn't a limited edition offers a significant savings.

The main difference on the XX Limited Edition is the mirror finish and the marking stating that it is in fact a limited edition. They say there is extra care taken and superior selection of materials. The sharpening is supposed to be better. I can't really say myself because I don't have any other Case knives right now to compare to. I've mentioned in past posts that when given the option I usually take the upgrade. That is probably the biggest reason I got the XX Limited Edition. In the short time I've had it, it's been a good knife. I don't have any regrets so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56