Knitting

in #knitting6 years ago (edited)

Do men knit? Yes, sure, they do! I am one of them - now!

A friend of mine took up knitting last year. When she mentioned it to me, I replied, half jokingly that I might try it sometime too, because it seemed interesting. The next time we met, she passed me a ball of yarn and a set of knitting needles. She said they were her spare yarn and her spare set of knitting needles. She will let me have them to practice, to see if I like knitting. If I do, then I can go and buy my own yarn, and knitting needles.

So, there I was with a ball of yarn and knitting needles, and have not the slightest clue about knitting. Luckily, there is YouTube. So, I watched a bunch of YouTube videos on knitting. And slowly, I learned how to knit from the videos. Lo and behold, I find that I quite enjoy knitting. I liked the challenge of learning something, totally different, from scratch. Hence, it was time to buy my own knitting needles and yarn.

My first project was a scarf, and a beanie, (a set) – presents for a friend living in climates where a scarf and beanie comes in useful.

These were the results of my first attempt at knitting.

IMG_1860.jpg

IMG_1859.jpg

They were not perfect, still rough around the edges, and if you know where to look, you will see that there were quite a few mistakes. Luckily, my friend does not care for the gritty details. He understood that it was a ‘test’ project, and was just pleased that the scarf and beanie comes in handy in the colder months.

I must say I was quite pleased with my handiwork, despite it being a simple pattern (Knit stitch) and the mistakes. I am quite proud of myself for successfully learning how to knit – and from YouTube videos too! It was exhilarating, seeing the finished product. The accomplishment was very satisfying, and very good for the self-esteem. (It doesn't take much to get this simpleton all excited.)

It was while searching for knitting videos on YouTube that I realized men knitting is more common than I thought.

Men who knit - documentary (video)

Crafty men find community in knitting (video)

I also learned of the benefits of knitting. Knitting supposedly reduce stress-related disease, slow cognitive decline, increase happiness and enhance self-esteem.

How to knit yourself healthy (video)

Personally, I feel that knitting can keep dementia at bay. Knitting requires concentration and remembering the stitches, especially if you are knitting a pattern. I also find knitting very meditative. You have to concentrate and focus on the job at hand - (just like when meditating, you focus on your breathing), and forget about everything else.

Of course, as you get more experienced, you can knit and hold a conversation at the same time.

I will be embarking on another project – another scarf and beanie. More on that later. For now, just a brief introduction to knitting.

Did I aroused your interest in knitting? If you are looking for a new hobby, why not give it a try. If I can do it, you can do it. Of course, you must have the interest. Feel free to share this post if you think any of your followers might be interested.

Cheers!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for dropping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Follow @quotes-haven if you like humour, quotes and reading about Life.

You might also like my previous posts: -
Humour / Memes
Quotes on Life
True Friendship

Sort:  

Kudos!! Nicely done @quotes-haven. I think you did a great job on your first set. If you are interested many fiberartists enjoy the community centered around the #needleworkmonday tag. You'll find some great folks there on Mondays.

Thank you for your words of encouragement and for letting me know about #needleworkmonday. I am pleased to know of the community. I have saved the link and will visit soon. Cheers!

lets knit a Steemit blanket ! haha

mmm ... I don't think so. :-)

Congratulations @quotes-haven! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63