It is cold in Arizona

in #knitting2 years ago

IMG_0977.jpg

Hello sweet needlework friends. While this is not the best photo of me, I just loved the way the tree branches look like part of my crazy hair.

I took the photo early in the morning, right after I cast off the last stitch of this combination cowl/dickie. It was 17 degrees Fahrenheit - that is -9 for my celsius thinking friends.

In San Diego, it never gets that cold. But I have been hiking early in the morning and the temps were close to freezing. I figured a cowl will serve me during my stay here in Northeastern Arizona as well as at home.

It all started when I went to a store in Windowrock on the Navajo Nation and I saw a wall of this.

IMG_0321.jpg

A wall of yarn. Imagine how my heart started racing and a big smile formed on my face. Did I mention that I am in love with wool. All kinds of wool.

Many Navajo people are weaving the most beautiful rugs and are using this yarn for their art. I found out that it is the Lambs Pride from the Brown Sheep Wool Comapny.

Most of the strands are 85% wool and 15% Mohair. Some are 100% wool. None are superwashed which I love.

The best surprise was that the prices on the Rez were super reasonable. I am sure you can guess what happened. Yup. I did buy a bunch.

So far, I have used them for hats, felted slippers, house socks, and now, this cowl.

My goal was to utilize leftovers.

54E2DF66-002B-44F9-8694-22548D5521C0.jpg

But after starting, I ended up sticking with two main contrast colors.

IMG_0994.jpg

I threw in a little red since I had started with a dark red leftover and wanted to pull everything together.

Here is the wrong side in case you are interested.

IMG_0996.jpg

I am thinking of writing up a pattern for this cowl. If I do, you all will be the first to know. Actually, I would publish it here.

Here is another way of wearing the cowl.

IMG_2163.jpg

Let me know if you are interested in a pattern.

This article is also published on Hive and on my own website

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84