So here is the first thing I knitted.

in #knitting6 years ago (edited)

I have never felt so proud, in such a long long time in myself. I am not one to blow my own trumpet much, but this time I am going to because this took me some time to do and some perseverance.

I knitted a hat.

So after a few weeks of trying to knit a scarf, I found that I was not really getting anywhere, I was getting holes in the knitting, I somehow added stitches when I shouldn't have, probably every error imaginable.

Let me tell you something, scarfs are not the easiest thing to knit.

It's true, its not you think it might be but not necessarily, but what is easier when knitting is having a pattern to follow, so I got on the hunt, I like watching videos about knitting because you can follow a pattern and see what they are doing at the same time.

So I found this video.

Source

This video seemed quite easy and it was how to knit a beanie hat, using a knit/perl stitch and the sewing looked easy enough, for the finish so I decided to give it a try and see how I got on.

The pattern consisted of the following

Cast on 37 stitches

Knit 1 perl 1 stitch.

I used 9mm needles and thick yarn for the hat.

28 rows.

So it took me about two days to knit the rows, but i openly confess that it is confusing to keep up with a knit 1 perl 1 stitch because you end up wondering at some point what the last stitch was. At some points I confess I was getting angry with the rows knowing that the stitches were getting messed up, but this time I was not going to unravel it and persisted on.

On the second day I finished all 28 rows, I stopped and looked at the finished work and was impressed at what I saw, ok it was not perfect but it was something I could see that I had created.

on kneedle.jpg

So then I realised I did not have a sewing needle with a big enough eye to thread through to do the stitch, so I had to wait until today to get one.

First thing I did was sew through the top stitch and pull it tight, like a drawstring bag to form the hat shape.

cast off 1.jpg

Next I sewed the seam together to actually create the hat.

The stitch .jpg

Once created I then went to make the pom pom I followed this instructional video which showed me an easy way to make them using cardboard, but I learned using thick wool you needed sharp scissors.

Source

And here we have the finished pom pom.

The pom pom.jpg

Then it was just a case of sowing the ends of the pom pom into the hat to cover the hole at the top and the job was done.

I loved the end finish with the chunky yarn because it was easy to weave loose ends into the hat to hide without it being really seen. So here we have the finished product which was for my other half, who I got to model it for me.

Finished result .png

I think I will do it again, however the next time I might do the whole thing with a knit stitch for now just because its easier and I like the finish that it gives, but of course I will be doing it a different colour.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post, I hope you enjoyed.

Sort:  

Cool! Nice work. It's awesome to learn new skills and arts! I think it's one of the most important things in life. :) Oh and I'd totally buy one if the price was right! Cheers.

Wow great thanks for that lets call that the prototype then, I will be producing more in other colours too, and will keep you posted I plan on selling them in matching sets so I will have them out in time for winter. Who knows maybe with a steemit logo ha ha.

Such beautiful work and you know I loove hats and your is amazing 😊
I love the result and it looks cozy.. Lol
You have a great knit talent my friend. Thank you for sharing and it's a perfect #haturday 😉👍 have a great day. Cheers! 🌹

Well that is such an amazing compliment coming from you thank you so much I had lots of fun making it.

Nice job on knitting the hat! I can knit scarves but definitely not a hat or mittens or socks for that matter. Crochet is another story. But it looks like you got this done in time for the cold weather! saw this post thanks to Monday Madness

Isnt that strange when I tried with the scarfs I was getting no where, now I am thinking bigger needles though because my logic is they will use less wool to make with although I cannot be sure about this.

I can't be more excited about your work. The hat is so fashionable. I need to find mom's needles...

Good job! Congratulations on finishing your first knitting project! It looks really good! 💚

I love that you gave something new a try! I enjoyed doing the knitting when I tried it, but it really hurt my hands. Keep up the great work. Just love the hat.
Ren

Whoa! Good work! I don’t know how to do knitting hehehe hopefully you’ll do more project aside from the hat!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Way to go Crazy! You kicked that hat's ass. Great job...can't wait to see your next project.

That looks so good! Great job on this cap! 😊

Persistence will pay off. Those of us who are skilled professionals only became so because we didn't give up after the first dropped stitch--or the fiftieth. We have made our share of holey scarves and sweaters that don't fit and socks that are not the same size. But we also have some lovely warm things that were well worth the effort. Good job! Keep it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85