Knitting stuff: Neighbors blanket

in #knitting6 years ago

IMG_3849.JPG

It's so hard making friends here. I'm from the states and now I live in Scandinavia. The culture is so different. After almost 2 decades, I really do not feel that the community has accepted me.
So, it is really nice when you actually connect with someone. Now, being a friend or talking on a daily basis will never happen. (Most seem to not welcome newcomers if you didn't grow up together, friend of the family, or family. Maybe sometimes work colleagues, but not always)

Still, the yearly neighborhood party that is had here, there is a neighbor in his 70's almost 80's that is such a great person. During these parties, he makes it a point to hang out and chat with me for most of the party. We have had great times in the past.
He got diagnosed with cancer a couple years ago. (Since then, so has his wife)
I decided I wanted to do something for him when I learned about this. He has been married to his wife for over 50 years now. So I decided to make a blanket. Thought it would be nice for him to have something to relax and recover through the treatments he started getting. Plus a place for him and his wife to cuddle under with whatever they do when relaxing together.

So far he is still doing well. A bit more frail than before but he's a fighter <3

Charlie Ann~

IMG_3841.JPG

(Thank you for reading. Your comment, upvote, and resteem are very much appreciated :-) )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46