Keeping warm in winter

in #knitting7 years ago

Hello lovelies,

I've been following the Suvi's designs some time and when I got a glimpse on her Keeping warm sweater it immediately went to my to-knit list.

IMG_20180107_093109_127.jpg

I kept looking at it again and again and last autumn I finally got around to knitting this sweater. I am a fan of brioche anyway so starting the turtleneck was a joyful experience and I love that the construction is seamless top down and you're completely finished once you knitted body and sleeve and don't have to pick up stitches again at the cast on.

IMG_20171217_082402_491.jpg

I changed the raglan line to my usual M1R k2 M1L as I simply like it best and added a few more increases to get more ease.

I opted for the waist shaping but did less decreases for the waist and added more increases to move one size up for my hips which also made the whole sweater a bit longer even though I had less rounds between the increases.

The mosaic is simply beautiful. It took me a bit to get into the rhythm of it but it's totally worth the effort. I love that one only ever knits with one colour for two rounds and the result is so beautiful.

20180106_165052.jpg

When I finished my first one I was smitten. I liked the colour combo, the feel of the very light sweater and it fit perfectly.

Meanwhile I had already fallen in love with the Pastel de Nata limited edition colour by Rosy Green wool and thanks to fabulous help of the sweet sweet ladies at my knitting circle the Night Sky colour was determined as a match (Danke Beate😊) and I immediately cast on a second one.

IMG_20180109_061242_798.jpg

The mosaic is even more stunning in these solid colours.

20180203_093157.jpg

20180203_093700.jpg

I'm perfectly happy with these two and finishing in time means I can totally enjoy our cast on this afternoon. The ladies at my local yarn shop start a Girlfriends Cardigan KAL. 😅 I already started swatching.

IMG_20180201_220916_005.jpg

Have a lovely time
All my love💞

Anja

Sort:  

Wow the stitches of your works are so even ... ! I like the design and color combination too.
I recommend you to join #needleworkmonday hosted by @crosheille. It's simple just you have to write a post about your needlework such as sewing, knitting, crocheting etc with the #needleworkmonday tag. It's one of my favorite communities on Steemit :)

Yes you are so right!!!!

Thank you for your nice words an great suggestion. I'd love to join. Do I have to post on mondays to be included?

I think posting on Monday is the best but also the organizer and participants are quite relaxed :)

I think posting on Monday

Thank you for the clarification and helpful pointer 😊

So beautiful and I'm impressed by how fast you know and how easily you modify patterns to your liking! You've been doing this a long time, I take it? That second color combo 👌👌

Thank you. You're right I started knitting in childhood and for the last three years I've been dabbling in changing patterns with the great help of some video courses on craftsy.com

ohhh so schön und wirklich absolut gleichmäßig, da darf ich mein Gestrick nicht neben legen, das schämt sich dann :-D Und beide Farbkombinationen sind super!!!

Vielen lieben Dank. Ich hab mir mal von meiner Lieblings Wollgeschäftbesitzerin sagen lassen, dass es mit Holznadeln gleichmäßiger wird, man aber mit Metallnadeln schneller ist. Ich weiß nicht ob das stimmt, aber ich stricke ohnehin lieber mit Holznadeln daher passt es für mich und den letzten Schliff bekommt es dann beim Baden und Spannen. ;-)

Sie hat recht :-D Zumindest gilt es für mich... aber ich wähle eher schnell als schön (Schande über mein Haupt) Aber wer weiß vielleicht wird mein Maschenbild ja mit der Zeit besser, ich stricke ja noch nicht so lang. Allerdings hatte ich das Problem, dass man "Reihen" sehen konnte. Ich habe jetzt auf eine andere Strickart gewechselt (combination knitting, keine Ahnung ob es einen deutschen Namen gibt), dass wird gleichmäßiger bei mir. Allerdings hatte ich bei meine ersten Lace Versuch eine böse Überraschung, denn man muss anscheinend Zu- und Abnahmen ganz anders machen als in der Anleitung... ächz
Vorm Spannen habe ich irgendwie Angst, nachdem ich mir damit mal eine Häkeljacke zerstört habe, aber natürlich hast du recht, ich sollte es nochmal versuchen .
Dir noch einen schönen Sonntag abend mit weicher Wolle und schnellen Nadeln

combination knitting habe ich mich noch nicht gewagt ;-) und ich fluche schon oft, wenn ich seh wie schnell die anderen Ladies sind, halte aber durch, weil ich das ordentliche Maschenbild so schön find. Dafür sind es weniger Projekte die fertig werden und das nervt manchmal sehr :-)

Ich denke für dich macht es auch absolut keine SInn die Strickart zu wechseln, da du schon so lange und vor allem gut strickst. Da ich ja gerade erst anfange, dachte ich ich teste mal, was am besten für mich funktioniert.
Und ja, manche Leute stricken in einem Tempo...unglaublich (in meinem nahen Umfeld Gott sei dank keiner ;-D) Du kennst bestimmt https://www.ravelry.com/projects/GingerTwistStudio ? Ich hab auf facebook ein Video von ihr gesehen beim stricken und ich dachte es wäre schneller gestellt... Neid!!!!

Ja, sie strickt wahnsinnig schnell. Ich wünschte ich wäre auch so schnell. Ich werd mich auf Ravelry für die Ravellenics anmelden und nehm mir als Herausforderung vor in der Zeit bis zum 25.2 einen Sweater zu stricken🙈. Extra dicke Wolle und viel viel Hoffnung & Optimismus, denn ich brauch normalerweise 5-6 Wochen😥🤔

Ich drücke die Daumen...10 Tage, dass ist ähhhh kurz. Ich arbeite mehr im Rahmen von Monaten, wenn es um stricken und Pulliartiges geht. Aber ich mache auch immer viel zu viele Dinge gleichzeitig. Ich werde mir deinen Link gleich ansehen. Wer weis, viellleicht bekomme ich auch was fertig 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74