All About Kitchen: #1 How to Hold a Knife

in #knife7 years ago (edited)

IMG20171023112327.jpg

As this is my very first post on Steemit, I would like to talk about something so insignificant yet has been bothering me for YEARS for some reason. But before that, I just want to give a shout out and a huge Thank You to @sam.hsuu for helping me with my "about" section (where we're encouraged? to write what our blog is about...I suppose?) I was struggling between a few extremely cheesy lines like "the clash of a cook & a make up enthusiast", or "the story of a cook/chef & make up" (has your goosebumps stand up yet??) as I did not want this whole thing to be so serious and thus at the end you can see her name above...lol...

Oh, did I mention that I cook and does make-up?? (well, tbh, I am still a student for the latter.)

Anyway, back to what I really want to talk about, yes, it's about- KNIVES . You see, it has been quite a pet peeve of mine when I noticed either intentionally or unintentionally how some people handle their knives. I can't really blame them because we don't master the skills of handling a knife the moment we are born and because it IS a skill, it has to be taught somewhere sometime by people with the know-hows and every time when I see the way someone holds a knife the wrong way, my heart will skip a beat and unconsciously a few drops of cold sweats will run down at the back of my neck. Therefore, while thinking of the 1st content for my post, I thought :why not I put up a post about a safer way of... HOLDING a knife?

By no means am I trying to say my way is the only way or whatsoever, and this post is err...really for people who are curious or interested to know what I mean by a safer knife holding method. for all the know-hows out there, you are welcome to correct me and constructive criticism is fine by all means. (note constructive criticism...lol...)

You see, it might only be me with my weird eyes and it might not be happening around you but I do noticed that there are a lot of people (around me) who tends to hold the knife like this:
IMG20171023114025.jpg
(ah, yes yes, please ignore my chubby lil' fingers, I realise they might ruin your aesthetic mode and I apologise for being born with them.)

The reason why I always freaked out deep inside of me (I usually keep myself composed on the outside) when I saw this scene is because this way of holding a knife can be dangerous to a certain extend as the knife is not stable with this method and if not careful, especially if one were to put some strength while trying to slice/cut something , the knife might become imbalance and slip from it's position and the next thing you know we will be needing some emergency kit at our side.

There are also a few I noticed who likes to hold the knife as such:
IMG20171023190320.jpg

No, just no, this is a very BAD way of holding the knife because by holding only the handle of the knife, your hand has no control over the movement of the knife, the knife tends to move around a lot from it's position (the 'teeth' of the knife should always face down or 90° sideways unless you're trying to carve something which has no relation to this post because you would already have the know-hows settled down...lol...) and it is even more dangerous than the above and we might not only need an emergency kit by our side but also a phone to dial 999 (Malaysia's emergency code number).

If I were to say one of the safest way to hold a knife it would be as follow:
IMG20171023112712.jpg

IMG20171023113939.jpg

The above way of holding a knife would be a lot safer because you will have better grip and control over the knife and it's movement. (it is actually quite a good method when you want to do some slicing or chopping). Really, please try it for yourself, when you hold the knife, it should feel 'locked' in your grip and will not move unless your wrist made it move. Of course a firm grip is much more recommended than a tight grip (tight grip of knives can be quite dangerous too).

Ah, sometimes there might be cases where our hands are a lil too small for the knife as we all know knives do come in many shapes and sizes and if you are living with your parents, chances are, those knives lying around inside your kitchen are not bought by any of you...lol...so if a knife is too big for our hands, we can actually use the same method above to hold the knife but instead of holding 90% of the handle of the knife, we move our hands a lil to the front like this:
IMG20171023190246.jpg
(you might not be able to see it, but that is actually a big long knife...lol...)

Again, please do not hold it like this:
IMG20171023190258.jpg

The hand is only gripping onto the steel part, it is just as dangerous as the previous wrong ways.

And how about small knives? wouldn't it matter however way we want to hold the knife since it is small and wouldn't cause any harm? I mean, if given a choice, I'd still recommend to hold it this way:
IMG20171023190521.jpg

or this way:

IMG20171023190426.jpg

Ultimately, I just tend to get worry of anyone getting hurt by a knife because of how it's been handled or held and I hope this post is helpful enough to people who were once scared of holding a knife for COOKING (not something else!!) and hope to overcome it sometime in the future. lol.

As for the rest, I hope my post looks very macam yes (yup, that's the reason.) and is enjoyable enough to earn an upvote from you guys. THANKS FOR READING!!

Sort:  

hello my fellow malaysian! good to see another cook. i dont mind how others wanna hold their knive as long as they feel comfortable. but i do get pity when some of my commis/trainee getting cuts :'D

Yes!!! I feel the same as well!!! It's sad everytime i hear hear one the reason some of my friends refused to step into the kitchen is because they are afraid of holding a knife as they've been cut while trying to do some cutting before... T_T

i must be getting on your nerves with all my wrong knife-holding methods hahahaha!!

Hahaha...i haven't see you hold a knife yet...no worries...lol... XD

Congratulations @macam.yes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This. Is. SUPERB.

Really, I have been holding the knife the wrong way - and now I understand why my hand hurts after cutting, chopping and dicing for a long time! Perhaps the next article can be about the use of different knifes for different ingredients? @macam.yes

Haha...thanks for the suggestion...definitely will be in my "to-post-list"...lol...thanks for reading and im glad this post helps!! :D @aaronmcheong

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65476.67
ETH 3385.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18