My Microtech UTX-85 OTF Knife

in #knife6 years ago (edited)

Thought I'd share one of my OTF (out-the-front) knives. This is a Microtech UTX-85. The handle is desert earth tan and has a black coated blade. It's part of the Ultratech series but it's scaled down to 85% of a full sized Ultratech. It's very compact and has a smooth, yet firm, double action. The blade is made from M390 steel. It comes with a glass breaker on the end and a tight pocket clip. I've had this knife for about a year. You can't go wrong with Microtech.
IMG_3311.JPG

IMG_3310.JPG

263jie.gif

Sort:  

Spring out and spring in, that's really amazing. All at the touch of switch. That's a must have, for sure!

smooth, yet firm, double action

This guy shoots ... a lot LOL

I have always been against OTF knives for carry. Seems too easy to accidentally retract if I pull back accidentally on the thingy. Maybe I will have to feel one to decide. I still don't think I could ditch my griptilian though

Love my mini grip too but there is no denying the cool factor of an OTF. And when I say firm, you do have to have some strong dexterity to deploy the blade. My wife and daughter have to use two hands. I've carried an OTF for a year and never had it fire without me wanting it to. Thanks for the upvote and comment.

IMG_3312.JPG

ok I figured as much, but the fear of sticking myself in the thigh seems fairly reasonable :p

Right? Might have a lock like the Italian versions?

The same group that makes engine control units?

Nice knife, man. I really like the form factor of the 85%, not so much on the 70% one. I think the 85 is just right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73