A new knife for the collection.

in #knife6 years ago

No silver or gold today, but I did have an Amazon package waiting for me at home today.

IMG_20180919_185324.jpg

This knife was bought for $20.00 CAD. I had some Amazon gift cards to use, and I figured I'd treat myself to a new blade. The first one I ordered was stolen by CBSA. That's Canada border services agency, and they don't call it stealing, they call it "seizing illegal items". But here's the thing, there is nothing illegal about this knife. It is perfectly legal to carry, buy, and own, anywhere in Canada. CBSA has a policy now, any knife that has a stud or flipper on the blade is "illegal" according to their policy, and therefore not permitted entry.

So, how did I get this second one then? Well, the seller (from Shanghai) emailed me saying that Amazon fulfillment centre has a bunch of them I stock in Winnipeg, so I re-ordered from there and it came a few days later. What a stupid ordeal. CBSA needs to change their policy from stealing from Canadians to protecting our border.

I also ordered a silver and gold ingot mould 😎. That's still shipping, but should be here later this week!

On to the knife.

IMG_20180919_185312.jpg

Blade is D2 steel, it has aluminum scales. It is a liner lock, with a "flipper".

IMG_20180919_185300.jpg

Overall, I'm fairly impressed with this knife, it's cheap, and a lot of Chinese pocket knives are terrible, but the fit and finish on this one's great.

I'll add it into my edc (every day carry) rotation and put it to work to see if the D2 tool steel stands up.

Sort:  

Hi @fat-elvis!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.798 which ranks you at #4489 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 42 places in the last three days (old rank 4531).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 597 contributions, your post is ranked at #237.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Who are you going to stab with it? 😂🤣😂🤣

Whoever need stabbing I guess😂

Looks like a keeper! 10 years or so ago the only chinese knives worth their cost were the cheap hardware store variants, looks like they've stepped their game up quite a bit!

It seems that they can make some better stuff now for sure. I have a couple Norinco firearms as well, and the quality is excellent.

Looks great for $20! I need to get my knives back out there tucked away but not sure where! The flippers are really fun to play with :-)

It's definitely fun to flip. And the "samurai" blade shape is pretty cool.

That's £11.70 in pounds I'd say that's a bargain!

That’s a crazy law. Pretty wicked looking tanto style blade.👍

its just their policy, It's completely illegal for them to seize legally purchased items. But theyre "in charge" and have all the power I guess. at least Amazon has a "work around" with the fulfillment warehouse, to help folks out.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I love looking at different knives and this one is no different. The handle is pretty cool on this one.

I know they are kind of pricey, but I really like the Bowie knives.

I picked up a nice big 13" bowie knife for pretty cheap at a liquidation sale years ago, its cool, but a bit too big to be really useful I find. cheer KS

Sweet piece. I can always appreciate a good knife.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53