Getting a new kitten?

in #kitten6 years ago (edited)

I’ve been a cat mama for 7 years to a beautiful boy named Raja. He was and still is my little tiger. Raja was Maine Coone and Tabby mixed. He was the most handsome and tallest boy you’ve seen. Unfortunately, September 2017 my little Raja passed away from a heart attack. It was unexpected and I am scarred for life. No one, no animal, no thing can fill that spot in my heart.

After Raja died, I wasn’t sure I wanted another kitten. But two days ago a friend asked if I wanted a kitten since she had 3 litters of kittens born! I saw the kittens and couldn’t say no. So tomorrow I will be going to pick up my new forever friend.

I wanted to create this post as to guide people as to what necessities should be purchased for a new kitty. First and foremost, I already booked a vets visit as soon as I pick up the kitten. This is so important! I then went to buy my kitten a biodegradeable litter box because she is small and I need to make sure she can climb in and out of the box. This is temporary until she is a bit bigger. Then I plan on buying her a litter box with a door on it so I can prevent litter tracking. Next, I purchased two stainless steel bowls; one for her food and one for her water. Stainless steel Bowls are better than plastic because they are BPA free and some cats (like my Raja) are allergic to plastic. Then I bought my kitten a bag of kitten dry food because that is what she is used to. It’s improtant to always give kittens the exact food they are used to otherwise they will have an upset stomach. If you choose to change their food then do it gradually. Lastly I bought my little new friend some toys. She’s very playful according to my friend so I want to make sure she has plenty of toys to play with.

These are just the basic needs for a kitten. Of course later you can get scratching posts, beds, tunnels for them to hide in, catnip toys, treats, and maybe even another cat friend later!

These are just what I think my kitten will need for now. Share your thoughts, ideas and opinions!
Remember, pets are family and you never leave your family no matter what! !

C297A295-0BDD-4047-9527-E2CED586EFD1.jpeg

Sort:  

Tylenol and chocolate are both poisionous to cats.

Absolutely! And so are poinsettias!

A sexually-active feral tom-cat \owns\" an area of about three square miles and \""sprays\"" to mark his territory with strong smelling urine."""

In contrast to dogs, cats have not undergone major changes during their domestication process.

Congratulations @samosa26! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

The largest cat breed is the Ragdoll. Male Ragdolls weigh between 12 and 20 lbs (5.4-9.0 k). Females weigh between 10 and 15 lbs (4.5-6.8 k).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59176.07
ETH 2667.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42