VIDEO: How We MAKE Our Sourdough BREAD Off Grid! ~You DON'T Need a Bread Machine!

in #kitchen7 years ago

We've had a lot of requests for a sourdough bread video. Jaimie wanted to show just how easy it is to make our sourdough bread here on the offgrid homestead. I think today that many people are intimidated by the thought of making their own bread from scratch. Today we have bread machines and all kinds of other gadgets to make it easy...so that means it must be hard to do right? WRONG!

Like anything in life, it takes a bit of practice but with determination, you can easily master this feat that SO MANY people in times past did every day.

Ingredients: Flour, Salt, Water

QUICK SUCCESS TIPS:

  1. Keep your starter in a room temp of no higher than 75 degrees.
  2. Only use REAL unbleached flour.
  3. Never use tap or chlorinated water.

WHEAT:
Natural Wheat can be 3 things

  1. Hard or Soft
  2. Red or White
  3. Spring or Winter
    Jaimie uses Hard, White, Spring wheat for most of her breads.

100 years ago, baking daily bread was a task that would not go undone especially in non-summer months. It was a staple and people would trade their own commodities for the wheat berries they would make into flour.

This age old method of making bread is something you can do! But like anything it will take some practice and effort and before you know it, you'll be a pro! GIVE IT A TRY TODAY!

Happy bread making!

resteem.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this. I miss making homemade bread as we transition from NY to VA. one of my very first purchases is going to be a four mill for my kitchenaid mixer. With the warmer climate in VA I am going to give this method a shot. I have always used potatoes flakes in and sugar for my starter. This seems much healthier and easier than the process I used to go through. As always great content from a great producer!

Zac, I know Jaimie has gone gluten free, has she tried making this bread gluten free?

Sounds like a easy recipe to make

It's been so long since I've made bread at home, you have inspired me to start again! Looks so yummy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70153.57
ETH 3783.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72