Kingsmen: The Golden Circle - Movie ReviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #kingsmengoldencircle7 years ago (edited)

ing.png

When the original Kingsmen dropped, I wasn't sure what to expect. I half expected 007 cum Twilight. While the franchise seems geared toward a modern audience, it is not a cheap knockoff. While there are parallels to James Bond, the concept stands on its own merit. I have been eagerly awaiting Kingsmen: The Golden Circle which I caught at the matinee today. I was not disappointed.

king2.jpg

I had apprehension about the original, and couldn't help but find myself wondering if I would enjoy the sequel. Sequels often capitalize on success of original stories without creating any original material. Kingsmen: The Golden Circle accomplishes that feat, introducing a new "private intelligence service" based in America. While laden with stereotypes, the writing is well done. After suffering devastating destruction to all of their agents as well as their support system, the young hero, Eggsy (Taron Egerton) must rebuild with just one remaining Kingsman, Merlin (Mark Strong). Luckily, a new support system was built in as a final protocol. The protocol leads them to their American counterparts, The Statesman, where they team up with Whiskey (Pedro Pascal) and Champagne (Jeff Bridges). They join forces to stop a diabolical plot launched by Poppy (Julianne Moore) who has managed to corner the drug trade. With the unexpected return of a former teammate, the agents travel the globe with plenty of gadgets and high flying action to save the planet.

king3.jpg

The thing I like about Kingsmen is that it delivers more than just high paced action. Kingsmen: The Golden Circle continues the high standards of the original, delivering a solid plot, amusing gadgets, heart pumping action sequences and a steady pace. The narrative arc speeds forward to a mildly predictable conclusion (with a kiss to Fargo) delivered by a cast of well-known talent. There are a handful of Oscar winners along with a few lesser known actors. The performances were spot on. The dialogue was sharp, with a couple of memorable lines delivered. Intelligent action films are hard to come by. This franchise is worth a third shot, which it appears to be getting at an undetermined date. Writers Matthew Vaughn (who also directed) and Jane Goldman return for the third installment, so I am definitely interested in seeing where they go with it.

king4.jpg

Kingsmen: The Golden Circle has a lot of strong language, some graphic violence and drug use as a major theme. There was also some sexual content, which was a little bit graphic, although there was no nudity. It was certainly enough to earn the R Rating given by the MPAA. This film is primarily an action film. The sexuality, language and violence were all handled contextually but I might still be concerned about younger viewers. I would go with teenagers or above as a rough guide.

king5.jpg

Kingsmen: The Golden Circle is an easy recommendation for me. Strong writing, great performances, solid pacing, thrilling action sequences and fresh dialogue equate to an entertaining film. In this case, the movie is a sum of its parts. While I went to see the matinee, I would not have been disappointed had I paid full price. If you miss this one in the theaters, it is definitely one to watch for when it hits the streaming services. I am a fan of this franchise, but well done. 8/10.

Sort:  

Watched and recommended

Great review. Although so far it's not making enough money to get a #3 movie. It barley covered its budget, that's not good. I blame it on not good advertising, they should have played up the return a lot more.
The ending scene from the first movie made me decide that whoever wrote this movie, clearly did not have the female audience in mind. and the demographic break down of the people who showed up for the sequel showed that I wasn't the only one who decided to sit this one out. Most big movies have a 50/50 when it comes to men and women, but this movie failed to make women come to see this movie. And then it seems generally not enough people decided to give it chance.

I can see your point. This film seemed geared more toward men, which is surprising with a female writer. It is what it is. Hopefully the box office will pick up. The theater I went to had an average audience for a matinee.

I thought it was going to be a 007 parody. It was a great movie, and then I needed a vomiting bag. Someone should have just cut it out of the movie.

I thought it might be a parody or a knockoff. I thought it was great, too. But I can see where the level of violence might lose some women viewers.

It wasn't the violence that is the problem. It's the sex scene at the end. That one scene ruined the entire movie for me.

For the record, my wife didn't like the sequel at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90