Change is HARD

in #kindness6 years ago

As I posted last time I have been trying to just be a kinder person (especially to random people). Last week I went into a Walmart and USUALLY when you ask someone in there for help they seem ticked off that you have inconvenienced them. But this time I asked this middle aged Hispanic woman for help finding a journal and she smiled, actually smiled, and even went on to ask me what the journal was for so she could help me find the right one. WOW! I explained to her my purpose and she tried to pick the one she would pick for the same reasons. We spoke briefly and I reached out and took her hand and looked her in the eyes and told her how much I truly appreciated her simply being kind and taking time to help me. As I spoke I seen tears well up in her eyes which in turn had the same effect on me. She said she had been at her job for 12 years and no one had ever thanked her in this manner and it truly touched her heart. We stood in the isle, her right hand cupped in both my hands we seemed to connect spiritually for that moment. So often people are afraid to just stop and be kind, so afraid to be heartfelt and bare their soul, to take someones hand to show they are genuine (NOT SEXUALLY might I add) but just in a sincere gesture of gratitude. I would like to ask you to please step out there and try it, just some random act of kindness, make a difference no matter how small. People, especially in retail, are so used to only hearing from customers when things are negative, when something is wrong. Thank someone even when you aren't obligated to.... Let me know what happens.

Sort:  

Congratulations @holliemaria! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56965.36
ETH 2498.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34