Kill The Pad Challenge Week 4 - Voices

in #killthepad6 years ago (edited)




Artwork by @scuzzy

The KTP Challenge theme this week is Mental Illness. Living with someone who is mentally ill can be quite the challenge. I have a vast amount of experience in this, and it can be quite depressing. Sometimes there is nothing you can do, except sit on the sidelines waiting for an inevitable result. So this is where these words come from.


Voices

Walking the razors edge avoiding a full fledged manic episode
Floating in madness, watch as my sanity is about to implode
Chemical lobotomy, charging head first to a chemi-kill suicide
Mental castration and alteration, leads to contemplating homicide

Can you hear the voices in my ear because it's quite clear
They are dominating the conversation, the situation is fear
These voices are massaging my brain, and I am quite insane
Is this heaven or hell, it's quite hard to tell when in pain

I am losing my fight with the demons in my head
I cannot stop feeling the desperation and dread
Can you help me to conquer this inner turmoil
If you can't I'll be checking out of this mortal coil

These pills attempt complacency, it is an utter fallacy
Please, can you not see the tragedy, it is a divine comedy
Someone is having fun in my head, it is surely not me
I am swimming in an ocean of insanity, it is plain to see

I abdicate my authority to the mental chorus inside my head
My house of cards is crumbling, and I am stumbling in reality
I cannot come down from this mental instability, it is a pity
My state of confusion is an intrusion, and my soul has fled

I am in a hate filled mood, I am sinking, the end is queued
I cannot stop the suffering, my thinking is quite skewed
The madness that ensues assures me that I am quite abused
The mental torment leaves me scarred, and my body bruised

Living in a tranquilized state, I am hoping to avoid this fate


Join The Veterans of Steemit Discord




Join The East Coast Steem Discord







Sort:  

Great job! I really liked these lines:

These pills attempt complacency, it is an utter fallacy
Please, can you not see the tragedy, it is a divine comedy
Someone is having fun in my head, it is surely not me
I am swimming in an ocean of insanity, it is plain to see

Thanks @simgirl much apprecitated! :-D

Nice verse. Good depiction

Thanks @ulqu3 appreciate it a lot, have a great day. :-)

This was really good man, really good. I can tell it really comes from a real place, the emotion just oozes off the lyrics. I see you tried using some more complex rhyme schemes as well, with the multi rhymes in some of the bars. I dig it dude. Really really good!

Thanks @jamesgetsit appreciate it my friend, thx for the tips, hopefully I will get better in the next contests.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50