Mirrors (Rap/hiphop)

in #killthepad6 years ago


killthepad_01.png

Artwork by @scuzzy

I stand in front of my mirror and stare at my back

All I see are errors and the things that I lack

A broken left shoulder, rain beaten pride

The only thing that consoles me is knowing I've tried

I'm trying to tell a story but shit ain't gonna ryhme

Would have put in some spices but I'm running outta thyme

So i turn back to the mirror and ask what I'm becoming

Many years writing and I'm still not performing

Don't tell me to calm down nigger, I'm missing my metamorphosis

If I continue this way, I'll be obsolete in my forties

There's no path in my front, just a mirror in my sight

There's no pat on my back, just a will to make it right

I hear my phone ringing, I try to reach but my arms are failing

Too late TheGray, I guessed you've missed your callling

So I'm back to this mirror and there's nothing to look forward to

I feel my thought roam and ask myself, "Where you headed to?"

They say I should reflect more and learn from my past

Well I'm staring at my reflection and I'm scared I won't last

There's no one behind me, even my shadow fades into the dark

I hear the demons, the ones I thought I suffocated in a sack

Too much of my past, it's time to move forward

Too much punchlines, this time I turn my back and push my elbow backward

I hear the glass shatter, pieces on my past on the ground

If any comes asking questions, I'm reply standing proud

I stood in front of my mirror and stared at my back

All I saw were errors and the things that I lack

my entry for @jamesgetsit's "KILL THE PAD" CHALLENGE WEEK #17 - SPONSORED BY SMA ( DSound Community Initiative )

Sort:  

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

This is truly a wonderful piece out there. I can't resist myself to comment.

The errors that I made
Reflect my soul's shade
All those day's, I suffered
Sacrificed my desire, friends and time
Now, they declared me
Failed.
How insane!
It is just a game
A game of bread, money and fame
How insane !

Thanks for sharing this wonderful piece.
Your Reader
Hash-tag

Dear @hash-tag I'm very grateful for your continued support

Thanks for your constant and insightful comments

Blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50