The Beast With No Face, Entry for Killer Poetry @rumplestilskin round 17

in #killerpoetry6 years ago

The Beast With No Face

The beast with no face
Devours men whole
The beast with no teeth
It scars to the bone

The beast with no heart
Paints blood-red despair
The beast with no eyes
Drops death from the air

The beast with no face
A thrown-fist away
The beast with no face
Lies within, innate

The beast rises, is born
Let loose and to reign
When upon our brother
~Be he one or a million~
We off and declare war

We declare war and the beast eats its fill

Published in Monster and available from amazon.com at the following link
https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=pryde+foltz

monsterimovie.jpg

Sort:  

Oh my word this is fantastic! We must be on the same wave length, I was writing about war earlier in the week lol but this is incredible. The imagery is wonderful, you paint both the beast and the pain of conflict in beautiful blood red, this is definitely inspired. In honesty, I wish I had read yours before I entered mine :P I would have saved it for next week lol

Thank you, Calluna. I am flattered, but don't give up hope. This is a loose rhyme and some people aren't keen on that. Your post has a prose beauty. Poetry is so subjective:)

I am not really in these things for the winning, and this is such a good poem. I have just never like to compete with people I like :) especially not when they swim in the deeper water too lol!

And loose rhyme has its own merits, the rhythm has to carry it more, and the flow has pull the rhyme through, in my subjective opinion anyway lol, this does that so well! But it is not up to me, so I wish you the very best of luck :)

Great luck to you too. We have both really won for having written poetry. The contests are just for fun:):):)

“We declare war and the beast eats its fill” …And we never seem to learn.

Hope your poem wins the contest. Loved it.

Thanks, Denise. So glad to see you here. Let me know if you have any questions. It is somewhat different than FB. You will be required to go slow at first to maintain bandwidth and voting power. But with time the platform starts to work a bit better than FB in a lot of factors. I will give you a link that lets you keep track of VP and BW. A pointer ... you will only be able to vote roughly ten times a day in the beginning and maintain voting power. If you go slow you can comment a lot more than that. And that is a good way to make friends and build your follow list. Here is the site .... I am here if you have any questions. https://steemd.com/@momzillanc

Thanks, Pryde. I appreciate your help.

Great poem... @prydefoltz about Monsters. Scary
and exciting. Best of luck in the competition.
Are you a published author?
Your books 📚 look very interesting...

Mostly self-published. But I do have a few poems published with others:)

Been looking at the amazon content of your "monster' book...some really scary stuff you've written there... ;) Fascinating to say the least !
Thanks for sharing.

Thanks, Jey-blue. Not too scary ... the monsters for the most part are of psychological or funny variety.

Those are the bestest monsters I know !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68609.44
ETH 3824.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63