POEM: Warrior Spirit Bright — Inspired by Lord of the Rings

in #killerpoetry7 years ago (edited)

This is a Gemini poem. One thought turns into another; I wander into Middle Earth and back again, imagination in flight.

I wrote this tonight, heart aflame, warrior spirit bright.

I have never understood why humans must fight.


Hope you enjoy my somewhat dark broodings . . .



via giphy.com — Strider/Aragorn immortalized by Viggo Mortensen


Warrior Spirit Bright


Still enslaved, struggling to get by,
Though this beautiful planet invites us to thrive.
This oppression that has trudged through time,
Grows like a death vine, leaved with lies.

There's always an epic battle to fight.
A warrior burns impossibly bright,
And must endure each transformation,
The alchemy of Evolution’s might.

We need a hundred Gandalfs, a thousand Aragorns,
Armies of Galadriels, Arwens and Eowens.
The call rings out across the land,
Echoes over mountains, water and sand.

I find my tribe, connect with clan,
Dance and sing, reach out a hand.
We weave a web of infinite span
Blazing hearts, together we stand.

My pipe is packed, my sword afire,
Laughter drowning out the ire.
Through each day I toil and tire,
All for the dream of freedom's shire.


Original poetry by Katrina Ariel, with a hat tipped to J.R.R. Tolkien.


All gifs via giphy.com: clips from the movie Lord of the Rings, directed by Peter Jackson, based on the masterpiece by J.R.R. Tolkien.


Okay. Hope you enjoyed that. It was cathartic for me.

Blessed be.

@katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

#teamcanada #steemusa #steemsugars #thealliance

the alliance

steemusa

Banners by @bearone

Sort:  

Such a beautiful poem! This stanza s really truck a chord with me: " A warrior burns impossibly bright"

Ain't it true? And not always comfortable, but then I'm preaching to the choir there. Thank you so much for stopping by, and for your kind comment. Blessings to you!

Can I join the battle? I want to be a wizard. :-) Love the poem.

Absolutely! We are in need of wizards. Bring your friends!

And, thank you! ;-)

My pipe is packed, my sword afire,
Laughter drowning out the ire.
Through each day I toil and tire,
All for the dream of freedom's shire.

impressive talent my friend 😍😍😍
I just love anything that has to do with lord of the rings or about our princess kat-leia 😊
so to have her write about lord of the ring is too much fun 😉

Here is your price: a 100 billion $ worth company just for you 😉
All you have to do is choose the new logo ! (tell me if you want a "K" instead of the "C")

OR

lol! That made me laugh. Thank you, my friend. That was sweet of you to do. :) So glad you enjoyed the poem as well. 💖

Very yoga to appeal to finding your own way as the best battle entered.

Find your own way, indeed. ;)

Something different and more dramatic
This is awesome

Thank you so much! Yes, a bit more dramatic than I've posted recently... I can do dramatic if I want to. ;-)

of course you can
You have such a way of writing it flows so well

Aw, sweet. And you have a way of making me smile anywhere you show up, here or Discord. That's talent. :)

😎👍😎

Oh you speak of my homeland? A beautiful poem indeed.

Freedom's shire? That's your homeland? Or New Zealand, perhaps... also very lovely! And thank you. :)

Lovely poem Katrina. I love how you creatively used cues from LOTR and combined it in your poem.

Thank you! It's easy to get inspiration from LOTR, though the poem didn't start with me thinking along those lines... just happened that way. :)

Awesome work and relatable (Fellow Mercurial Gemini here)
:)
One Steem to rule them allllllll , joking that would probably turn into more of an Obligarchy then it already is lol

Thank you! Yeah, I thought about bringing the ring in, then decided against it. Didn't even want to think down that path. Geminis Unite! ;)

This is pretty neat...and ironically true.

Too true, really. But yes, a warrior's spirit burns bright, and tribe is good, which I guess is the upside. And the laughter bit. ;)

I can hear it read with an elven accent with some ethereal music being played softly behind it. Nice darlin! Love some middle earth!

Thank you! Yes, a trip to Middle Earth is always nice for me. Glad to take you along for this one. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63193.07
ETH 2456.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67