The Sanctity of The Stars

in #killerpoetry6 years ago (edited)

planet-2398343_1920.jpg

We shall venture forth into the unknown
Claim new lands as our own
As we did before, so we shall again
Entire planets will be claimed by men

We will portion up this universe
Based on who go there first
Hopefully this time we will care
If something's already living there

For in the name of colonisation
We'll reek unknown devastation
As its inevitably that we'll grow
Plants and crops we already know

Even if that world seemed lifeless
Something could have begun to exist
Something changed or forever halted
By the little things we altered

A poem inspired by my musings on the ethics of space travel, is it possible for the version of mankind who live on this planet to make contact with another planet without causing some form of impact on that planet. Is it possible for any version of man, is it even possible at all. Or would the very making of contact, even with a lifeless planet, cause ripples beyond our comprehension. These ideas have been feeding in to a story I was writing, I have sort of lost momentum for a bit but I returned to this poem to get me back to thinking about it again, and thought I would put it forward for the latest round of killer poetry.

The contest can be found here :
https://steemit.com/killerpoetry/@rumplestiltskin/rumplestiltskin-s-killer-poetry-contest-round-24

Photo credit [https://pixabay.com/photo-2398343/]

Thank you for stopping by!

Sort:  

Fortunately the same forces that push colonization hold back space exploration. I hope there is a balance maintained there. When we get ourselves right ... the universe may open up:)

I doubt humans will ever reach space for colonisation, not humans as we know the species at least. But any form of colonisation would have impact for better or worse.

Calluna you I am very fond of photography
and I am very excited that you have to post
it in ours like this. Another thing you love
is that I'm interested in you @biplob0136
11.gif

Is off the chain calluna! Nice post! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63506.20
ETH 3065.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04