Fare Thee Well My Friend (A toast to goodbyes)

in #killerpoetry6 years ago (edited)

glasses-213156_1920.jpg

My friends, raise a glass with me
On this fateful, final day
Remember all the times we had
Before I left and went away

Oh the fun, the tears, the laugher
The joy we all once knew
The roller coaster that came after
All the things we went through

Let’s have a toast to all we'll miss
And those memories we can never tell
The ups and the downs that lead us to this
Our sweet parting farewell


This is a toast for goodbyes, to the end of uni, to moving away, to goodbye for now, to goodbye forever or to a life well lived.

This is my entry to Killer Poetry

Photo Credit

Sort:  

University was such an amazing time for me. A bittersweet moment when you have to leave it. But wishing you wonderful luck on the next stage of your life. Great poem, Calluna:)

Thank you very much, although it is a very long time since I was at uni myself, and leaving wasn't like this for me at all. I wrote this as more of a toast for a funeral, but threw in some more examples to make it more relatable :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47