You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Camas Wildflowers And The Milky Way At Sagehen Meadows - For #killerpix

in #killerpix6 years ago

Another gorgeous shot! I love light painted shots like this, and you do them extremely well.

When shooting stuff like this are you concerned about light leak? aka do you use that little rubber thing on your camera strap to block the viewfinder or does it not really matter? And do you worry about the color temperature of the light itself or do you adjust it in post?
I have many questions as I am jealous you get such perfectly exposed shots and I want to learn how to do it properly :) Thanks!

Sort:  

Thank you @nords!!!

When doing long exposures at night, I don't really worry about light leak. I just make sure not to shine the headlamp directly onto the back of the camera. If a full moon happened to be behind me in a shot like this, I might worry more about light leak but I rarely use the rubber viewfinder cover. I tend to just block bright light from the viewfinder with my body or hat, creating a shadow on the camera.

I pretty much always shoot in RAW with auto white balance, knowing that I will be correcting the color balance when processing the RAW file in Adobe Photoshop's Camera RAW feature. I will sometimes correct the foreground color temperature when it seems off but the headlamp I use has a decent color temp to it and it doesn't usually need too much fixing. I will also sometimes dodge and burn a little if I have certain areas in the foreground that got a little too much light or not enough, in order to balance things out a bit. But usually, I will look at the image on the back of the camera after I shoot it, then adjust where and how long I shine the headlamp in order to get the best looking shot in the field.

Hope that helps a bit @nords, have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59388.60
ETH 2528.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50