KillerPix📷Contest #46 : On The RadiosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #killerpix6 years ago

Hi There 😊

This is my entry for the theme Radio. I don't think many people own these traditional radios anymore. Everything is on the mobile phone. My Dad however, is very old school. He has a radio playing in the background almost all day long. He uses it mostly for his music but more importantly for the news. Which is the only reason why I managed to take this picture a couple of hours ago.

IMG_5888.jpg

I have history with the radio. My very first paycheque was spent on a boom box. I was 15. I worked in a factory sewing clothes for a little over a month and managed to get enough money to buy one. That was the start to my radio career. All the free time I had was spent in front of the radio. Listening to songs, recording the songs I like. To write down the lyrics, I'd rewind and forward the songs, until I got them all. And then of course, I'd create my own mix tapes. I wasn't special. Back then, just about every kid did this. Those were good days.

And thanks to Breakdance, it was also very cool to walk around with the boombox on your shoulder. Of course they were 3 times the size of this... haha

IMG_5889.jpg

And you'd then set it on the pavement somewhere and just hang. Friends would join you and you'd dance and have a good time.

IMG_5900.jpg

Do you own a radio? Do you even listen to FM or is everything online? The reason why my radio station shut down was because the English market was shrinking. The youth was migrating to spotify, joox, etc curating their own playlists, news is consumed through word of mouth on social media, and traffic reports are delivered real time by other users on apps like Waze. Video did not kill the radio star, but world wide web might just do it.

Images taken with my trusty iPhone 7 Plus

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

’Til we meet again over text, pics, videos, maybe even coffee - Steem On!!

KAERPEDIEM.gif

over20.jpg

20180516_002249_0001.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Hahaha, I remember I had a walkman. The brand was 'Aiwa' and had to blow the dust off the tape when it gets cranky. Nostalgic.... :) Calling in the radio station for a song request...and all that

I remember the walkman hahaha. I remember Aiwa too.
Calling in for a song request, so cute ... and today you play us songs on Discord... how cool is that 😊

Video killed the radio star! I remember the songs and the boom boxes and the break dancers :) And, yes, I still have radio's at my house. We had a hurricane here in 2007 with no phone or TV or Internet connections and the only communication was through the battery-powered, transistor radio and the local KMUN radio station for seven days!

Nothing like old school....
Wow, 7 days is a long time...
Glad you had some sort of communication 😊

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44