A NORTH STAR to guide us home while the whole world spins madly on

in #killerpix6 years ago

NORTH STAR AS A SYMBOL
As I traveled around the United States photographing religious buildings I loved this opportunity to photograph this Church building which happens to be the Oldest Church in Maine. I love the symbolism we can often find in the cosmos for faith. In a sky of changes we get to have a constant. A guide for ancient mariners finding their way in the storms... just as many use their faith to guide them through morally tumultuous times.

Optional Text
This was a 2405 second image taken in october with a 14mm lens

I like to think that the original builders wanted it to line up perfectly but perhaps the sidewalk makers obviously centuries later didn't line up their sidewalk perfectly. But knowing the history of old american churches sometimes they get moved around anyway.

"Love is like the North Star. In a changing world, it's always constant." Gordon Hinckley

What is your "North Star"?

Sort:  

Very beautiful photo. Thank you for the post!

Reminds me of this song:

Also, sweet old church! How do you pull off that long of an exposure?

do a 30 second shot with the exposure you like then just change the aperture and iso let's see about
1,2,4,8,16,32 looks like about 6 stops. Then take into account that skies will get darker and you have about 40 minutes.

Also pretty much the song I was thinking of when I made that title.
Dangit too bad this isn't my #musicalmonday picture right?

Fair enough! I guess it makes sense, I've just never done anything anywhere close to that long!

Haha perfect, such a good tune. And right!? I was thinking the exact same thing when I commented haha!

My north star is Truth.

The real question is "what is my sextant?"

"OH SAY WHAT IS TRUTH"
Lyrics

  1. Oh say, what is truth? 'Tis the fairest gem
    That the riches of worlds can produce,
    And priceless the value of truth will be when
    The proud monarch's costliest diadem
    Is counted but dross and refuse.

  2. Yes, say, what is truth? 'Tis the brightest prize
    To which mortals or Gods can aspire.
    Go search in the depths where it glittering lies,
    Or ascend in pursuit to the loftiest skies:
    'Tis an aim for the noblest desire.

  3. The sceptre may fall from the despot's grasp
    When with winds of stern justice he copes.
    But the pillar of truth will endure to the last,
    And its firm-rooted bulwarks outstand the rude blast
    And the wreck of the fell tyrant's hopes.

  4. Then say, what is truth? 'Tis the last and the first,
    For the limits of time it steps o'er.
    Tho the heavens depart and the earth's fountains burst,
    Truth, the sum of existence, will weather the worst,
    Eternal, unchanged, evermore.
    Text: John Jaques, 1827-1900

I love that, especially stanza four. Thank you.

great post. wonderful photography. thanks for @jarvie

I like the way the lights interact with the sky in this one. Hope your well mate.

Oh I am well indeed. Hope you enjoyed your vacation away from social media. haha

p.s. Let's end up in the same cool location at some point this year.

Nothing to say more... You are in top three... I like your long exposure picture... Really cool...

Thank you for sharing and have a nice day my friend...

Stunning. I have so much to learn re photography!

Well stick around I hope to do more posts and tips that help... and we hope @photogames helps educate and even more important motivate for better images.

Nice looooong exposure....

Wow that is great, didn't even notice the stars at first.

It was still twilight and somewhat close to some cities so they don't stand out quite as much as against black skies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64