A Most Daring Act

in #killerpix6 years ago

How I ended up at the top of this radio tower. It was 1977 and I was living in northern Michigan. I hired on with a company that was doing oil exploration in our area called Western Geophysical.
We left Michigan to work in Indiana and then on to Pennsylvania and were stationed in a town called Port Allegany. It was beautiful country being in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains.
I had a day off from work and wanted to do some exploring, so I set out and found a small mountain to climb. I saw some towers on top and thought it might be a fun climb with a great view. When I reached the first tower there was nothing to restrict my access, so up I went. I climbed up to the top and took some photos, it was a thrill but at the same time a little scary especially when looking and climbing down because I had no safety gear. So I felt big relief when my feet hit the ground! Daring and dangerous It was, but I'm glad I did it.

So here's looking down!

in tower 7x7.jpg

Here's a photo of the identical second tower which gives an idea of how high up it was.

tower-2 7x6.jpg

Now days these sites are locked and secured there's no casual entry.

Sort:  

Wow. What an adventure! That's crazy. I've done some steep climbs in my time, though I don't think I've done anything quite like that before! That would be pretty scary! Do you have any idea how high it was? Looks like at least 100 feet maybe even quite a bit more than that!

It was quite an adventure I must say! I would guess that its somewhere around 200' to 250' feet tall.

Wow! What a beautiful photography. Really your photography is awesome. Thanks for share this post.

I enjoy your wonderful compliments!

I have to creep along, back against the wall, once i'm four stories up. This would take alien invasion, or something of the like.

Careful that could happen LOL. I have always had a fear of heights and I'm uncomfortable when photographing on the edge of cliffs with many hundreds of feet drop offs. But with risk there's rewards. Although one must survive the event.

Yeah it's very high. Climbing on it is very tough but interesting as when we are on the top of it then we can enjoy the real beauty of our nature. Really I'm pleased to know your experience. And you captured a great shot climbing on the high.

That's exactly right. I'm glad you like it.

Wow, a photo from 1977 I like it a lot when you share old photos to commemorate memories of the old times.

I'm glad you brought that up because it's so true. Thank you. Good old memories can bring a lot of joy!

You were lucky that for that time I had no surveillance and you were younger. Today it would be almost impossible to climb one of these towers.

That's exactly right, times change and there's less freedom now!

Excellent photography ..really amazing.
i like your photography..
Thanks for share..
Dear @irvinesimages

That's crazy high!!

That's right and one time was enough. Just glad I had a camera.

Being at the top of these towers are awsome. You get to feel like you on top of the world. Admire what you do and I followed you. You will like my amazing steemit blog where I ask life biggest questions in different scenarios . Follow my blog for more interesting post.

Wow! What an adventure. Really i like it. Great photography. Thanks for sharing with us.

Thanks and happy to share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48