Steamed Easter Eggs Bangkok Thailand killerpix Contest Entry

in #killerpix6 years ago (edited)

Easter is like most Western holidays in Thailand. They are either not celebrated or celebrated in an unusual way. So far, I have not seen any sign of Easter in my Thai neighborhood, so I will make do with some steamed eggs. These are found most anywhere food stalls are set up. This particular steamer is at my local night market.

easter eggs bangkok thailand killerpix fitinfun.jpg

Most of these eggs include the chicken-to-be who did not get to have a chance at life. This type of “egg with chicken” is called “balut” in the Philippines. I did not realize Thai people ate these too until I got here.

When I get my steamed eggs from a street vendor and fresh off the steamer I need to wave my hand in the “No” manner and say “gai” meaning chicken. This tells the vendor I want an egg – not a fetal chicken encased in egg. They laugh and know this already as few Westerners like balut.

My memories of Easter are not good for the most part. I grew up in the church and returned to it for years in adulthood. Once you pass lent it’s a sad day everyday in church. Then Easter comes and the fabric gets thrown off the crosses. Everyone relaxes and feels joy at the once again risen Christ.

As you can tell I am not a religious scholar. Just a mom who had to hide eggs, dress up, get to church, and cook a big meal; all at the same time.

Avoiding balut is a walk in the park in comparison.

This is my entry for this week’s #killerpix contest with the theme of Easter.

Before and after later that same life fitinfun.jpg

The secret to my extreme weight loss is no secret at all. I got over my excuses for obesity, learned skills, and took action. Just ask me, and I will help you break the bonds of obesity too.

Sort:  

I love the grilled the eggs you can buy on the street in Bangkok but I always double check to make sure they are the regular eggs and not the balut before buying them. I would not want to be biting into the wrong egg!

I agree. I usually try anything once, but I just can't wrap my mind around this one!

Thanks for sharing food

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78