Killerpix Contest Entry: Disappointment

in #killerpix6 years ago

My entry for this week's Killerpix Contest, the theme of which is Disappointment.

https://steemit.com/killerpix/@killerwhale/killerpix-contest-23-20-sbd-in-prizes-submissions-post-plus-winners-from-last-week

Imagine the disappointment when my battery failed at the very moment bigfoot walked by!!! Such bad luck...

Disappointment

Fun fact: this photo was taken in Iceland of all places - not where you might expect to see a sasquatch, but evidentially even that illusive creature has a thing for the land of ice and fire!

The real backstory of the image is that my sister played the role of bigfoot. We actually went to the trouble of dressing her up in wool yarn to make her look wooly and hairy, but it was a sadly wasted effort as that detail didn't come across in the final image. To run the battery down I left the camera in video mode for a long time, and then rushed to get the shot before the battery became too depleted to say Battery Depleted.

My sister rocked the bigfoot pose, I had a second camera on a tripod with a timer to take the picture, I held the depleted camera in my hands and everything kinda just worked - one of the rare times that this happens and I was able to get a great image in-camera - which is funny, because the photo portrays the opposite situation.

Sort:  

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

Hey, I like random upvotes! :D

I gave you a Non-random one... how about those?

Meh, they're alright too, I guess.

Congrats on random upvote! Never got any yet myself ;)

I just assumed you photoshopped that in, but that's true Elbow grease you did (well, maybe more your sister). Either way, great idea ha

Yeah, definitely more her than me, haha, she's a great partner in crime! Thanks! :D

Hahaha, this is funny... I casted you a random upvote too although it's worth nothing ;) tough life here as a minnow right? I also joined this DISAPPOINTMENT contest, love more special themes like this.

I'm sure he loved it even more!!

Yes, it's the purposeful random upvotes from real people that I like! ;)

lol! Your non-bot random vote means much more, and the comment even better. ;)

Yes, I liked that theme too - it was different and specific but it allows for more creativity. I've played games before where you have to come up with an image to fit a random theme, and there's nothing like it to get the brain working! Hope to see more like it here on Steemit. Good luck! :)

Seems a bit of a waste of perfectly good battery power to say "battery depleted. It may as well let you take one more shot

Everything deserves a last dying word though, right?

but if those words are "I'm dying", it's kind of redundant :P

Well, batteries aren't known for their eloquence.

Nonsense, I once knew a battery that could recite Sylvia Plath in a way that could make anyone depressed.

That must have been a high capacity battery! I would have expected it to recite the Charge of the Light Brigade.

ahahah. this is really disappointing!
it is very unpleasant to experience this situation. very nice detection and superb reflection on the picture frame! you will be the winner, Derek!
congratulations

Hehe, thank you! Don't you just hate it when this happens? ;)

have 4 spare batteries. nevertheless I am living this situation and it drives me crazy. :D

Even if you have fresh ones in the bag, sometimes it's too late for what's happening in front of you!

oh yeah you are so right!
Hoping not to miss the beautiful moments!

Great stuff! Idea and effect...good luck in contest!

Thank you!! :D

Well, I've had, dead battery sindrome, also the "left the battery at home charging" .... and last but not least "I forgot the memory card". All these during the protests when I was in the middle of chaos. Ha ha ha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66038.35
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61