New candidates for the Darwin award

in #kikichallenge6 years ago (edited)
 The Darwin Awards are a tongue-in-cheek honor, originating in Usenet newsgroup discussions around 1985. They recognize individuals who have supposedly contributed to human evolution by selecting themselves out of the gene pool via death or sterilization by their own actions.  

source : Wikipedia

Usually I consider myself to be optimistic about humanity as a whole. Sometimes I do have fits of nihilism but most of the time I still think the human race is destined for great things.

Then once in a while I observe something that is so utterly idiotic that I wonder how did we even come so far. The latest thing being a trend colloquially called the Kiki challenge.

A quick scroll through social feeds will show you videos where people step out of their cars, and dance to the tunes of a Drake track, called ‘In My Feelings’ from his latest album ‘Scorpion’. Kiki comes from the lyrics of the song: “Kiki, do you love me?” But it’s not the Canadian rapper who prompted the viral challenge. It was internet comedian Shiggy who posted a video of him dancing on the streets on June 30, hence the alternative names ShiggyChallenge or DoTheShiggy. And the rest, like they say, is butterfly effect. What’s peculiar, though, is that Shiggy’s video didn’t involve any vehicle. There was NFL star Odell Beckham Jr, who joined the challenge a few days later and can be seen stepping out of his stationary car. Somewhere amidst the internet noise, the cars started moving.

Source : cntraveller.in

This is the original Odell Beckham video

People on the Internet started to imitate the act, and then for some reason the cars were no longer stationary, like below

I'm not sure in what universe that people rush to make a video of themselves stepping out of a moving vehicle to dance in the middle of public roads, and the best ones are the DRIVERS who step out of the driver's seat to perform the dance while the passenger films them.

Needless to say, there are more than a few fails, some more painful than others

And finally, my favourite

Makes me want to wish upon a shooting star  that it will become a giant-ass meteor and fall on Earth to end the human race.

Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Oh my... I can't stop watching them. This is so incredibly stupid! At least Odell pulled the hand brake FIRST!

I know right!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77