Three Books That All Little Girls Should Read

in #kids7 years ago (edited)

Inspirational Books

FullSizeRender.jpg

I'm always on the look out for books that my kids will enjoy reading and will learn something from. I have three daughters aged 8, 6 and 1 and I want them to aim high and be confident that they can achieve their dreams. Kids, like adults, are inspired by stories that they hear or read. I wanted to share with you three inspirational books that my elder two daughters, Mini Me 1 and Mini Me 2 have enjoyed reading, and I'm sure Mini Me 3 will do soon!

For The Right To Learn - Malala Yousafzai's Story

FullSizeRender (12).jpg

This is a beautifully illustrated book which tells Malala's story in a way which is easy for kids to understand. Mini Me 1 and Mini Me 2 were shocked to know that in some parts of the world girls are not allowed to learn. I felt sad that they are now starting to find that women are still treated unfairly but at the same time I don't want them to take their lives for granted.

FullSizeRender (13).jpg

There is a photo of Malala at the back which my daughters liked because it assured them that this was indeed a true story. The book was written by Rebecca Langston-George and illustrated by Janna Bock. It's available in both hardback and paperback and can be ordered from Amazon. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Right-Learn-Yousafzais-Encounter-Nonfiction/dp/1491465565

Little People, Big Dreams - Maya Angelou

FullSizeRender (15).jpg

A good friend of mine, who is also Mini Me 1's godmother, bought this for her for her birthday. It's a little simple for an 8 year old but still enjoyable and an important story for kids to know. Maya Angelou's life was quite traumatic at times but this book explains difficult events in a way that kids can understand without being traumatised.

FullSizeRender (14).jpg

I think it's important for little girls (and even boys!) to know how struggles can be overcome and that you can be anything that you want to be. This book was written by Lisabeth Kaiser and illustrated by Leire Salaberria. It's available to order from Amazon in hardback https://www.amazon.co.uk/Maya-Angelou-Little-People-Dreams/dp/1847808905/ref=sr_1_7?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1506550753&sr=1-7&keywords=little+people+big+dreams There are also other books in the Little People, Big Dreams series, including Audrey Hepburn, Coco Chanel and Agatha Christie.

Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World

FullSizeRender (16).jpg

I saw this book in a bookshop recently and just had to buy it for my daughters. It's full of fantastic facts about amazing women who achieved great things by using their talents and following their dreams. It has lovely illustrations and the way it's set out is fun to read, with lots of little facts and speech bubbles.

FullSizeRender (17).jpg

The fantastically great women in the book include Amelia Earhart, Emmeline Pankhurst, Coco Chanel, Rosa Parks, Frida Kahlo and several more. I have to admit that I learned a lot too! Since getting the book last week Mini Me 1 had read it several times and Mini Me 2 has begged me to read a few stories from it every night. She loves the inspirational quotes at the back too and reads these to herself.

The book is available in both hardback and paperback but I got hardback as I know this will be read a lot over the years! It's available to order from Amazon - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Fantastically-Great-Women-Changed-World/dp/1408894408/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1506550753&sr=1-1&keywords=little+people+big+dreams

If there are any other books that you know of which are must-reads for little girls (or even little boys) then please share and let me know.

MummyImperfect x

Sort:  

Thank you very much for posting these. My girls love to read and I'm always looking for new inspirational or character building books. The books we're all reading is the main topic of conversation just about every night at the dinner table. It livens things up and allows my wife and I a great segue to teach them about real world situations. Thanks again!!

I love that you talk about books at the dinner table! In this day and age many families don't even eat together and just watch TV or look at their phones. It's great to share books with your kids.

I knew it would be an amazing book, when you said

It's full of fantastic facts about amazing women who achieved great things by using their talents and following their dreams. It has lovely illustrations and the way it's set out is fun to read, with lots of little facts and speech bubbles.

Thanks for sharing this

Thanks for reading :)

Thanks 4 sharing this, i'm a father of two and my oldest(7 years old) is getting into reading! I will definitely keep this 3 books in mind when i shop for book 4 her to read! Keep up the great work and best wishes from @kenentertainment!

These books are perfect for a 7 year old. Thanks for reading :)

Thank you @mummyimperfect :-). Need to purchase them as well for my sons.

Yes!! I am so happy to hear that!

Great post. Children love and remember stories so it's important to make them aware from an early age what life and especially their life is about. I'll recommend these to my sister as she has 2 girls.

Amazing post thank you so much for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93