Six Weeks of Summer - Week 3: Cookies and Cupcakes at Toyhouse Children's Centre

in #kids7 years ago

IMG_2261.JPG

Just before the school summer holidays began I received some leaflets in the post from Toyhouse Children's Centre in Tower Hamlets London. I have never been to this children's centre before but I liked the look of their school holiday schedule so thought I'd take the kids along when we had a free day. Plus all the sessions are free!

IMG_2265.JPG

My kids love baking

If you've been reading my posts you'll know that my kids love baking. Since they make what they want whenever they want to at home I didn't know if they'd get anything out of attending the Cookies and Cupcakes session at the children's centre. I was wrong. They loved it and so did I.

IMG_2268.JPG

Easy recipe for kids to follow

I liked the way the tables and baking equipment were set out for the kids. There were also baby toys set out on one of the room to keep the baby entertained. Mini Me 1 and Mini Me 2 loved the way the recipe was super simple and didn't even require weighing scales. I have a feeling they'll be using that recipe again at home!

IMG_2271.JPG

Playing with new toys and new friends

All the volunteers at the children's centre were really friendly and welcoming. The lovely thing about Tower Hamlets is that the community is so diverse. This was really evident at the children's centre and everyone was really friendly with each other. While the cookies were in the oven and being looked after by some of the staff everyone went to the park around the corner with a variety of toys. My kids loved taking part in egg and spoon races, sack races and playing badminton. They made some new friends too. At the end everyone went back to the children's centre and got to sample their creations.

IMG_2274.JPG

It was a lovely morning and Mini Me 1 and Mini Me 2 told me how much they'd enjoyed it. Children's centres like this are brilliant for providing free activities for families. I really hope the government doesn't take anymore funding away from them, but that rant is for another post!

MummyImperfect x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80