Six Weeks of Summer - Week 2: Getting Crafty in Coventry

in #kids7 years ago

Rainy day

So today was another rainy day and I was looking after five children. My sister works full time so I had my nieces and my mum wasn't feeling too good so little sis was looking after her. I took the kids to Herbert Art Gallery in Coventry city centre. It's right opposite Coventry cathedral.

IMG_2142.JPG

Herbert Art Gallery

Although it's not the biggest museum its a lovely place for kids to go and explore. In the school holidays they always have some activities on for children. This summer holidays they have different arts and crafts workshops every day. The activities cost £2 per child but under 2s are free. There is no need to book, you can just drop in - http://www.theherbert.org/whats_on/family

IMG_2159.JPG

Clay modelling

Today's craft activity was making a fish out of clay. All the kids love clay, it's something we never have a home so it's just that extra bit special getting their hands on it/in it. Here's a little video of today's clay modelling:

Freebies

The baby was a bit too small to take part in the craft activity but she enjoyed playing with the soft blocks. There was a lot more to see in the museum and entry is free. I'm sure the kids would have been happy whiling away a good few hours in the museum but we were all hungry so ate lunch at Cafe Rouge as they have a nice kids menu. This was also a freebie as I used Tesco clubcard vouchers. I think the whole day cost me £15 in total to entertain and feed 5 kids and myself. The summer holidays are loooong so no point blowing the budget in the first two weeks. For anyone living in or around Coventry, or visiting there with kids over the summer, I recommend popping in to Herbert Art Gallery. It's nice to soak up a bit of art and culture, especially when it's too wet outside to do anything else!

MummyImperfect x

Sort:  

Miss you guys! x

That is awesome! Sounds like a good bit of fun, and it's cheap! Good post mummyimperfect!

Thanks for reading :)

Lovely posts. I am new to steemit, but also run my own blogs about parenting. I have given you a follow would appreciate a follow back. Lets be in this journey together, :D

Thanks for reading and following me. I have followed you too and I like your blogs..I can identify with them! Looking forward to reading more.

Wonderful! Thank you so much

It's good to see you're still keeping your children active and learning during their summer break!

Thanks. I'm trying to :)
I remember my parents used to make us to extra homework in the school holidays and it was so dull. My trick is to get them to learn without realising they are learning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81