My Appreciation for Single Mothers and how I had to Woman Up

in #kids7 years ago

Rosie-the-Riveter-is-a-mom.jpg

Home alone with the kids

I haven’t posted on Steemit for a while. Family life has just taken over, I had a couple of events to plan so with three kids, my small amount of spare time was devoted to that. Now I have several half-written posts/ideas that I want to put up on my blog but as is usual with me, I end up writing about something that I wasn't expecting to write about. My husband has been at SteemFest in Lisbon since last Wednesday, leaving me home alone with our three young children.

single-mother.jpg

I was uneasy about the idea

Now this is no big issue. It’s quite normal for a responsible adult to be home alone with their own children…..normal for most people. The the first time ever that I have been in my own home alone over night with my own kids was for one weekend this time last year when my husband went to the first SteemFest! And I’m a bit embarrassed to say that I was uneasy about the idea. My first thought was “Quick! Go and stay with my Mum and Papa!....oh damn we can’t because the kids have school/activities”. They live a two hour drive away so just popping over for a few hours wasn’t an option. Then I tried to get friends or family to stay over...”Come on, I’ll throw a slumber party!... I’ll leave mints on your pillow...I also offer a turn down service!”. No one took up that enticing offer for whatever reason so it was just me and the kids. My youngest was just 2 months old at the time and I think I was just getting used to coping with the new dynamic of three kids. It turned out to be a character building experience.

Isolated and depressed

This time around my kids are 8, 7 and 15 months. I’m used the having three kids part but I still felt the same way about being at home alone with them, this time for 5 nights. I couldn’t take the kids out of school and go to my parents house, not even for the weekend due to their activities. And although I desperately tried to make plans to see friends and family and invite them over, no one seemed to be free. Plus close family members left the country around the same time as my husband left for SteemFest. This left me feeling isolated and depressed for the first day or so. Sounds weird right? Seeing as I wasn’t actually alone, I was with my children. But three young kids without a second pair of hands is pretty full on. It’s nice having another adult around for company too, or just to say “listen to your mum and do as you’re told!”.

Single mothers

All the single mothers I know say that after they have put their little ones to bed and the chaos of the day is over, they feel incredibly lonely. I’m lucky to have a husband who I can still talk to on the phone and who can tell the kids “listen to your mum and do as you’re told!” via FaceTime. There are a lot of women who don’t have that. There are a lot of women who do it alone all the time. There’s no one to watch the kids when they want to pop out to throw out the bins, or go shopping, or to the gym, or just have a break. And then there’s the financial aspect. But they do it.

single-mom-667x375.jpg

Soldiers

Single mums get on with it every single day. And I have the utmost respect for them. More now than ever before. I’ve had to Woman up over the last few days. Raising kids is an absolute privilege and it’s fun too, but it’s not easy. You have to be strong mentally, emotionally and physically. Women who do it alone are soldiers. And I salute them.

MummyImperfect x

A little note to the organisers of SteemFest: Please consider having the next one in the UK school holidays so that me and my kids have the option of running home to my parents house.

Sort:  

I had the same feeling when my husband went to steemfest, except I have 2 kids. My husband called me to say how much fun he had at Steemfest while I was tired after waking up 2x in the night because our youngest peed in his bed.... I really feel how strong being a single parent must be. My husband needs to travel to York or Switserland once in 3 months or so. He would stay there for few days for work. I am happy to see you back blogging :-).

Omg I feel like you totally get where I am coming from! The waking up twice at night because someone peed/threw up in their bed is very familiar to me!
My husband also had a blast at Steemfest. Sounds like it went really well.
Yes I'll be blogging more regularly now. Thanks for reading :)

Wow
Thank you for sharing this
My mother raised us all by herself

Sometimes I imagined how difficult it must have been

Would call her now

Thanks for the reminder

Thanks for your comment.Your mother must be a strong woman. Definitely call her often :)

You are a real hero for me! My God, three children! This requires great physical and mental strength. Your family is beautiful, I follow the updates and I know for sure. I know single mothers, in our country it is very difficult for them to survive. This topic worries me, and I wish strength and patience to all mothers and their children!
Your children are remarkable, I wish them health, and you have more time to create such wonderful posts!

Thank you for your kind comments and for my baby's crown! :)

Congratulations @mummyimperfect! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Raising kids though is fun but is not easy.

Yes totally. They bring me a lot of joy...but also some grey hairs and lines around my eyes! :)

as a selfish male, I am amazed at the strength of women with young children. Much easier to have a job. If people think parenting young children is boring, it just shows how limited their understanding is. It is an enormous task, particularly if you want to stimulate your young ones. It was a long time before I could stay home "alone" without my better half. :)

Thank you for reading and for your comment. Before I had my third baby and I was working, I used to joke that I just go to work to have a rest! The real work started when I got home from the office and stepped through the door!
I agree that it's a bigger task if you want to stimulate your kids. Keeping on top of reading and homework and everything is a job in itself.

Hello my dear! It's so difficult for the woman to take all the responsibility of their childrens on her shoulders, me i can't stay alone at home i get scared, and for three children's it's not easy to look after them, you need someone to help you.

Yes definitely, an extra pair of hands is very helpful. I'm lucky that I do usually have my husband to help me. Also, these days people don't live in extended families so much so grandparents and uncles and aunties are further away. This makes life a little harder too. Is it like that where you live too?

Of course, me i have one daughter, and i feel my self so busy, btween cooking, washing, cleaning......etc, the motherhood is a beautiful feeling, but a hard responsibility.

Congratulations @mummyimperfect! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75